Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakesurfing

Old     (bigshow)      Join Date: Feb 2005       09-02-2006, 8:54 PM Reply   
Compared to wakeboarding (or anything else), a boat rigged for wakesurfing handles differently, driving takes more care. I’m very familiar with the handling of my boat, an ‘04 Centurion Lightning. Malibu provided an ‘06 VLX this summer for the Scioto Wakefest. We found that there was a huge handling difference between my 04 Centurion Lightning and the Malibu 06 VLX. My experience with the VLX is very limited, just a few days. I have no other experience with other wakesurfing hulls so I’d like to hear if anyone else has similar experiences that I describe here.

When I stop to pick up a fallen surfer my Lighting generally holds a straight line. On the other hand when we stopped the VLX, the surfing wake strongly spins the boat 90 or more degrees. At first we fought the natural VLX spin. One of the surfers from Indiana, Scott S. suggested going with the flow. I think he recommended steering with the natural turn. When we did steer with the turn the VLX spun nicely about toward the fallen rider, making driving and pickup much easier.

Since wakefest I’ve only been out on the water surfing a few times. The last time out I tried to get the Lightning to respond like the VLX. The Lightning does make a slight turn and the turn can be accentuated with steering, but the response is very weak compared to the VLX.