Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through April 04, 2003

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old     (badzuki)      Join Date: Sep 2001       03-29-2003, 2:48 PM Reply   
Install PP today. Turn on the key and the display lights up but nothing else comes up. Seems like everything else is working. The servo and things. Is something suppose to come on the display? Or do I need to hit a key? Any ideas on what is wrong?
Old    Zedz Dead (ktm250)      Join Date: Jan 2003       03-29-2003, 3:17 PM Reply   
Low battery voltage? That is usually the cause, sometimes bad ground. You didnít say what type of boat or which engine and there are some wiring issues with different MDC boxes.
Old     (badzuki)      Join Date: Sep 2001       03-29-2003, 4:29 PM Reply   
It could be a battery. The boat was winterized and I just thru a battery in quick. As far as connections they should be good.
It is a 99 X-star with the LTR engine. I had to hook the black wire to the gray on the MDC. That is for the RPM and that is the only wire that goes to the MDC.
Do I have to have the engine started to see anything on the display?
Old    JCrave (s4inor)      Join Date: Mar 2002       03-29-2003, 6:08 PM Reply   
The backlighting on the display goes on, but nothing else? Are the segments of the screen filled with black? I agree with Zedz, it's probably low voltage. Does the servo motor power up (is the knob too tight to turn by hand)?
Old     (badzuki)      Join Date: Sep 2001       03-30-2003, 6:33 AM Reply   
The servo motor tightens and does its job. Its just the display. No, There are no segments on the screen filled with black. Just the backlight comes on. PP says that it is suppose to ask you how many hours are on the boat. None of that happens. Does the engine have to be running for pp to display anything?
Old    MB Tom (tcaton)      Join Date: Sep 2002       03-30-2003, 11:11 AM Reply   
Try unpluging the servo motor and then power it up if the display comes on then it will tell you that the battery voltage is to low
Old    Bob (bob)      Join Date: Feb 2001       03-30-2003, 10:20 PM Reply   
no the motor does not need to be running if it is wired correctly, mine displays tach (00 of course) and speed with the key in the run (but not running) position
Old    Zedz Dead (ktm250)      Join Date: Jan 2003       03-31-2003, 6:04 AM Reply   
No the engine does not need to be running...sure sounds like low voltage.
Old     (badzuki)      Join Date: Sep 2001       03-31-2003, 7:30 PM Reply   
Talked to PP today. They said it is definitely not low voltage becuase it only takes 5 volts for the processor and display to work. The servo motor takes 12 volts(the servo motor is working so it is getting enough voltage). He said that there is either a pin on the display plug that got bent over when hooking it up or the display is bad. Well I checked the pins and they are all okay. I will call PP and tell them that tomorrow. Sounds like they will send me a new display. PP is GREAT to deal with and will do anything to get you up and running.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 8:27 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us