Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (Andrew14)      Join Date: Apr 2011       06-16-2011, 11:30 AM Reply   
Hi all - I know there are thousands of "Which Board Should I Choose" threads and reviews on the latest boards out there, but was hoping I could get a few quick pointers as I try to narrow down my choice for a new board. After being out of wakeboarding for 5 years (sold boat, went back to school), a lot has changed and the choices are overwelming. I'm trying to firm up a choice for a new board that will last me a few years and enable me to progress (I'm a beginner rider - consistent HS w2w, inconsistent TS w2w, close on a backroll). I'm coming from a 2006 CWB Marius 140 cm (w/ 2006 LF Watson OT bindings) and looking for something much lighter (my current set-up is pretty heavy) and something with a 3-stage rocker that has strong, predictable straight-up wake-to-wake pop. I will be riding a factory ballast only '08 SANTE 210 set-up if that helps, so no monster sacked out wake until I develop solid fundamentals. I'm 5'10", 165lbs, and would like soft landings if possible (i'm 32).

Four choices I've been considering are the following:
1. 2011 Ronix One 138 cm ATR - with One boots
2. 2011 Ronix IBEX 139 cm ATR - with Relik boots
3. 2011 LF Watson Hybrid 139cm - with Watson CT boots
4. Something in the 2011 Slingshot Line since everyone is saying that flex is where it is at (even behind a boat) and flex is where everything is heading.

I will be riding only wake (no cable and no rails). For reference, I rode a 2005 HL Premier a few times a few years ago and loved how easy it was to ollie back and forth between switch and regular...even though that was probably not deemed a very "poppy" board, its predictability and upward push felt pretty good to me.