Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 08, 2008

Old    mcbean7            04-30-2008, 10:09 AM Reply   
I've got an 88 Ski Centurion with a Ford Indmar 351 with a Holley carb. I am having problems starting the boat...takes awhile to fire her up. Also, idling way too fast (1000-1100 rpm). I've been reading threads from other sites and people are talking about the choke possibly being stuck open. Now, I am new to boating. I grew up riding street bikes where there is a choke lever you pull out when cold starting. Where is the choke or how do you activate the choke on a boat?
Thanks in advance.
Old     (chilidog)      Join Date: Dec 2007       04-30-2008, 10:42 AM Reply   
Its gonna be built into the carb. Probably just an electric one, take off your air cleaner and if there's a plate covering 1/2 of the 4 holes you can see if you look down from top into the engine that plate is your choke. If its flat and you can see down it then its off, if its at an angle covering 2 of the 4 holes then the choke is on. Not sure how these work on boats, but on cars you turn the ign. on hit the gas once and starty it up, hit the gas again after 30 sec or so and it goes off
Old    mcbean7            04-30-2008, 11:03 AM Reply   
I just took off the spark arrestor and see what you are talking about. Right now, boat is in neutral, engine off, plate is covering the two barrels towards the front of the boat. I can move it to see the barrels. When I pump the throttle I can see gas squirting into the barrels towards the front of the boat. No gas squirting in the barrels towards the rear of the boat. So the choke is automatic? I don't need to turn it on or off?
Old     (bremsen)      Join Date: Aug 2005       04-30-2008, 11:27 AM Reply