Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through August 01, 2004

Old     (macdaddy)      Join Date: May 2004       07-21-2004, 6:41 PM Reply   
any one know any reason whats up with this...now bear with me im just a contractor...The paint is peeling off both manifolds..and only from the two center cylnders...It seems petty but if i clean the bilge and the motor gets wet then i get rust stains in the bilge...the boat has just 20 hours on it

(Message edited by macdaddy on July 21, 2004)
Old     (jnewcom)      Join Date: Mar 2003       07-21-2004, 7:04 PM Reply   
Surely the dealer will help you out with this, I would call them. I have a malibu, so I'm not to farmiliar with what your talking about. If mine are painted I was unaware of it. Mine are black, are yours a color?
Old     (macdaddy)      Join Date: May 2004       07-21-2004, 7:13 PM Reply   
wtf
pic
Old     (jnewcom)      Join Date: Mar 2003       07-21-2004, 7:17 PM Reply   
ok, i see what you're talking about. If I were you I would definetely take it to the dealer to get it fixed since its brand new. None of my boats have ever done that.
Old     (lukeduke95)      Join Date: May 2002       07-21-2004, 7:17 PM Reply   
hahahhahahahahaha

try some high heat paint.

They probably didn't prep it properly at the factroy, and the heat is causing the contaminents to keep the paint from sticking to the metal.

I had it happen with my old car. Had to really wipe down the headers to get teh paint to stick.

Try to wire brush it off and then use laquer thinner to clean it. Then paint with either 500 or 1200 degree paint. The 500 will probably be fine and it comes in more color options, like if you wanted to change the motor color to grabber green!!!