Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through June 03, 2009

Old     (masonmeuth)      Join Date: May 2009       05-08-2009, 10:23 AM Reply   
Ok I have been riding for 8 years and I have asked tons of ppl and I get various answers on the subject. Would a bigger or small board be better for your knees as far as impact during landings? I have heard a large board allows u to land softer because it spreads out the impact area, this makes sense. But also I tihnk on the other hand wouldnt a bigger board land harder because of the increased surface area it wont sink into the water as much on impact? For example (a bad one) If there were a small thin peice of plywood on the water and u jumped on it, it would sink into the water and the water would kind of break up the landing. But say u jumped onto a large peice of plywood the extra surface area would allow the plywood (or wakeboard) to offer more resistance and thus be a harder landing.
Old     (nzrider)      Join Date: May 2009       05-10-2009, 5:07 PM Reply   
If your worried about impact ride a Slingshot as that acts like a snowboard with tons of flex.
Old     (jasonpav)      Join Date: Dec 2008       05-10-2009, 5:15 PM Reply   
There aren't many boards bigger (surface are wise) than the cwb marius, and there aren't too many boards that can land as soft as it either...but a lot of that is because it has two center spines
Old     (bobenglish)      Join Date: Mar 2008       05-10-2009, 7:00 PM Reply