Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through August 27, 2003 > Archive through September 24, 2004

Old    waterdog2            08-12-2004, 5:13 PM Reply   
Any tip's about drilling and cutting holes in fiberglass would be greatly apreciated
Old    cowie            08-12-2004, 5:29 PM Reply   
I have limited experience( installed PPass and tower) but here are a few tips. Always drill from the outside in, if possible. Use masking tape pressed down well over the area you are going to drill / cut and drill through it. Also we found scribing the gelcoat with a compass on the cut line prior to cutting eliminated any spider cracking in the gelcoat ( along with the masking tape). If possible use a new holesaw even for small holes. We had one that was 3/8 for tower bolt holes and it worked well. PPass holse was like 1 1/2 inch. PS new hole saw made all the difference.
Old    oshensurfer            08-12-2004, 5:30 PM Reply   
Blue tape. Reverse drill first with a hole saw. Same thing as the compass tip. Use wd40 and drill away.

Are you using a hole saw or just drilling? If your just drilling, try to use a counter sink bit.

(Message edited by oshensurfer on August 12, 2004)
Old     (sydwayz)      Join Date: Mar 2003       08-12-2004, 10:53 PM Reply   
Hold a shop vacuum next to the hole you are drilling. No mess. And yes I agree, use tape.
Old    tommyadrian5            08-13-2004, 7:57 AM Reply   
yea, tape, and a new bit

if you're gelcoat is quality you won't crack it at all, scoring it before isn't necessary.

I did try to drill a second hole with the original holesaw, and it took about 5 times as long, so a new one is probably a good idea.

Oh yeah, make sure you are drilling in the right spot, then double check it about 30 times.