Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through April 17, 2007

Old     (megan)      Join Date: Mar 2007       03-24-2007, 1:33 PM Reply   
Hey everyone I'm new to wakeboarding but have wanted to learn for sometime now. I've decided I'm doing it this year. Where do I go to learn? Do I have to buy gear right away or can I rent? Where can I get a pull for a rookie? I don't want to go speeding across the lake my first time. are there groups that get together and everyone pitches in? I don't have a boat or anything where do I start?
Old     (joshugan)      Join Date: Apr 2005       03-24-2007, 2:25 PM Reply   
I'd try the find a third be a third section. Most people have a loaner board so you don't need to buy your own equipment until you're ready. You can rent/demo from shops and most add your demo price into whatever board you decide to buy.

You can pay a coach but for just getting up and learning the basics you really don't need to. I'm in school so I don't go as much right now but you're welcome to come with me and my friends some time when we do go. (Oh, and search for one of the threads about going on other people's boats, those have some great tips!)

Good luck!
Old     (factory)      Join Date: Aug 2006       03-24-2007, 2:30 PM Reply   
pm sent
Old     (dan_lee)      Join Date: Jan 2003       03-26-2007, 1:50 PM Reply   
If you do want lessons hook up with my boys at westsidewatersports.net
Old    bocephus            03-26-2007, 2:12 PM Reply   
I emailed you too and your myspace...

We have an informal group at

http://groups.myspace.com/azwakeboarding

Also we go every Saturday. All you need is some gas money to give Lantz and the ability to help clean. We most likley have a wakeboard and bindings that will fit you.