Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through September 20, 2005

Old    jh3            09-13-2005, 3:41 AM Reply   
I'm new to wakeboarding. It's been about 15 years since I have been out on the water. I can get up on my skis, but not on my son's wakeboard. The main problem I have is twisting the board after coming up out of the water (starting with the board sideways). My son can put the wakeboard in the water nose up, tail down, and start out without a hitch. He can even grab the rope as it is going by, have his Dad step on it, and up he goes -- really neat to watch!! Dad doesn't have a problem getting up on the board either. So far, I am the only one and feel pretty awkward at this point. Any pointers would be appreciated. Thanks much!!
Old     (wakebrdrnc)      Join Date: Mar 2004       09-13-2005, 3:50 AM Reply   
Get up side ways. If you are regular footed(left foot forward) pull the handle to your left hip. If you are Goofy(right foot forward) pull the handle to your right. This will turn the board and your body for you. I know most know what regular and goofy are but you seem pretty new so I was trying to help.
Old    jh3            09-13-2005, 4:52 AM Reply   
Hi Shane,

Thank you for your help. The only way I have tried to wakeboard is Goofy. I have skied slalom (not sure if that's the correct spelling!) before, but I didn't get up on one ski. I got up on two and then kicked one off. I know this isn't the proper way to do it and the only reason I did it was because we had the whole lake to ourselves at the time. I tried to get up on one ski, and failed. I'll try pulling the handle to my left hip. Should I do it with one hand or both?

Thanks again....
Old     (dudeman)      Join Date: Mar 2005       09-13-2005, 5:10 AM Reply