Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 19, 2006

Old     (gr8n8)      Join Date: Feb 2006       05-09-2006, 9:54 PM Reply   
I'm new to wakeboarding and to boating. I have an 18" I/O with a 454 mercury. That isn't The power plant that came with the boat originally from the factory. It was a 350. However the boat is small the motor is big. My problem is it takes a while to drop the nose down and also keep a consistent speed. Would adding weight to The nose help rectify the problem? If so how much? Also the wake it puts out is pretty steep, I'm thinking because all the weight is in the rear of the boat. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Old     (norcalmalibu)      Join Date: Jun 2004       05-09-2006, 10:40 PM Reply   
Well the weight difference from the small block to the big block might be the reason of the porposing. Id suggest using a hydrofoil for the Out drive unit.. Here is a link for you

http://www.overtons.com/modperl/overtons/order/items2.cgi?request=aisle&catnum=2C13A

Old     (himain10ance)      Join Date: Apr 2006       05-09-2006, 10:46 PM Reply   
any easy fix is lead bars in the front
Old     (gr8n8)      Join Date: Feb 2006       05-09-2006, 11:01 PM Reply   
i do have a hydrofoil on the outdrive and porposing isn't the issue. i guess what i'm trying to say is i can't get a steady speed for wakeboarding because i can't keep the nose down. and if i added weight how much?
Old     (himain10ance)      Join Date: Apr 2006       05-09-2006, 11:55 PM Reply   
start with 75 but if bad go 150 keep going till you like it
Old     (gmarkham1)      Join Date: Sep 2003       05-10-2006, 5:29 AM Reply