Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through August 27, 2003 > Archive through June 22, 2004

Old    imracerx            05-26-2004, 12:37 PM Reply   
Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie with boats. I have an 88 Mastercraft Prostar 190 with a Tandem axel trailer with surge brakes. I am towing it with an 04 Dodge Ram Quad Cab 1500 with the Hemi in it. My problem is while towing it down the freeway, it jerks around a lot. Feels like it is trying to pull the truck backwards. Not sure what the problem is. Can anyone give me some suggestions? Anyone else had a similar problem? Thanks!
Old     (wakeworld)      Join Date: Jan 1997       05-26-2004, 1:00 PM Reply   
I have the same problem, but it's one of those things that you never think about fixing until you're pulling the boat. Then, once you put it away, you forget about it again.

My boat actually pulled just fine when I had a Dodge pickup, but since I've started pulling it with my lifted F350, it's been jerking around just like you describe. I'm wondering if my drop hitch is too low, so I've been meaning to get one that's an inch shorter. Not sure if that will work, but it's all I can think of.
Old     (pierce_bronkite)      Join Date: Jul 2003       05-26-2004, 1:08 PM Reply   
Is the bow of the boat rested securely on the front of the trailer roller (or on some trailers, they have box type looking stop)?

On my trailer I have the roller type rest and if I dont get the bow of the boat to rest properly on it the boat tends to dip up and dow when moving.
Old     (jklein)      Join Date: May 2001       05-26-2004, 1:14 PM Reply