Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through September 06, 2005

Old     (dsw27)      Join Date: Jul 2005       07-26-2005, 10:22 AM Reply   
I have an 89 Mastercraft Prostar 190 with around 1300 hours on it. I’ve had it for about a year and a half. Last week when I went out it was running at around 70% power. We changed the points and spark plugs on it last year and that seemed to make a big difference. It still idles and starts great, but it doesn’t have the power it usually does. The Mastercraft dealer thought it might be the fuel filters which I have not changed before.
Anyone have any idea what could be causing the loss of power?
Or has anyone replaced the fuel filters before and had an increase in power? If so, how do you do it?

The other problem I have is that I have to joggle the shifter in neutral in order for the ignition to kick in when starting it. I think there is a bad connection somewhere to the kill switch, but I don’t know where to look to fix it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old    alanp            07-26-2005, 11:01 AM Reply   
doug my first thought was fule filter but i have pretty limited mechanical knowledge. to change it just pull out the old one or get a good look at it and then go to the autoparts store and find a replacement. usually about 4-8 bucks. the filter sits between your gas tank and your carb. follow the line until you reach it(usually its near the back of the engine). if your really lost then go to the autoparts store first and look at some of the filters they have there so you get an idea as to what youre looking for. filters are usually held on with hose clamps.