Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through May 01, 2004

Old    boofhead            04-20-2004, 3:44 AM Reply   
I run my university wakeboard club along with a few other dedicated individuals. Most of our members are complete beginners to any watersports. As a result I spend alot of time getting them up for the first time and have got a list of things I try with them to find something that works for them. I was wondering if you guys could add anything to the list below, so that I have more things to try if things arent working out with an individual. Do you have a routine with a good success rate? Its important for everything to be quick as poss as we only have 15min sets and its often pretty cold so they lose the stoke rapaidly. My list of things to try is:

1) The detention rountine - basically tell them what murray says, on land and then the water
2) If they pull the handle, tell them to pretend to break the handle in half like its a stick - they cant pull and do that usually
3) If they get half way too early and fall/or freak out tell them to get to a squat and stay there to a feel for it
4) If they end up sideways and cant get the board to plane straight on tell them to put the handle so that their arms are around their lead leg so the pull brings them up more sideways

And thats about it. I guess what Iam asking for is anymore trouble shoot solutions like 2-4. Iam pretty new to the coaching side of things, so any advice from you guys would be great!
Old    pathetic2            04-20-2004, 8:51 AM Reply