WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Archive through May 08, 2008 (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=579409)
-   -   WS420 --is 12volt to strong (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=577011)

zacharoo 05-06-2008 10:58 AM

I have been doing some reading about EQ's and I have bought a ws-420 the other day. Seems that most eq's are low in voltage like 6v rms or so and I noticed that the WS is 12v rms. Does this mean that the outputs on the WS are going to need to be set more to the lower end of the dial spectrum?

05mobiuslsv 05-06-2008 11:00 AM

Don't turn it up more than 1/2 on the output gain, you will have serious noise issues.

liljohn 05-06-2008 11:00 AM

you can control how much voltage is on the output side by adjusting the gains on top of the eq. 12vlt is simply the max it will put out.

brit_rider 05-06-2008 5:05 PM

I ordered a couple today... cannot WAIT for them to arrive! :D

uofamox 05-06-2008 5:28 PM

I currently have a WS 420 and make sure you have very good RCA cables, a solid ground for the EQ and as nu bu states keep the gain less than half way...for now. <BR> <BR>I had to do some tuning but I am on the 2 yard line and cannot wait to be completely dialed in.

mikeski 05-06-2008 10:13 PM

My WS-420 got a serious workout this weekend at the spring ride during it's maiden voyage. I used every option on the device and it worked flawlessly. I am really happy now having the ability to adjust the boat and tower seperately. Not a trace of noise, I even paused my IPOD and cranked everything up to the max to see if I could hear a faint whine or buzz, nothing but silence. Keep in mind I have about 50' of RCA cables in my system as well as a revolution volume control and a maxxbass processor. I don't know what you guys are doing wrong getting noise, my guess is you guys getting noise are powering your components from different power sources. Everything component should be powered from your amp power distribution blocks, if you must use a keyed hot, that is the only thing that should be attached to the factory harness.

zacharoo 05-07-2008 7:50 PM

What are good RCA cable?? Monster, stinger and JL are the only ones that jump out to me as good.

05mobiuslsv 05-07-2008 8:43 PM

Kicker, Rockford Fosgate, Street Wires. I've used them all and never had any issues. I also just ordered some Knukoncepts rca cables that are supposed to be triple shielded and they were pretty inexpensive.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 9:09 AM.