Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 08, 2008

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Zach (zacharoo)      Join Date: Nov 2005       05-06-2008, 9:58 AM Reply   
I have been doing some reading about EQ's and I have bought a ws-420 the other day. Seems that most eq's are low in voltage like 6v rms or so and I noticed that the WS is 12v rms. Does this mean that the outputs on the WS are going to need to be set more to the lower end of the dial spectrum?
Old    Nu Bu (05mobiuslsv)      Join Date: Apr 2006       05-06-2008, 10:00 AM Reply   
Don't turn it up more than 1/2 on the output gain, you will have serious noise issues.
Old    Who Cares (liljohn)      Join Date: May 2007       05-06-2008, 10:00 AM Reply   
you can control how much voltage is on the output side by adjusting the gains on top of the eq. 12vlt is simply the max it will put out.
Old    Brit Rider (brit_rider)      Join Date: May 2004       05-06-2008, 4:05 PM Reply   
I ordered a couple today... cannot WAIT for them to arrive!
Old    MOX (uofamox)      Join Date: Feb 2007       05-06-2008, 4:28 PM Reply   
I currently have a WS 420 and make sure you have very good RCA cables, a solid ground for the EQ and as nu bu states keep the gain less than half way...for now.

I had to do some tuning but I am on the 2 yard line and cannot wait to be completely dialed in.
Old    Mikeski (mikeski)      Join Date: Aug 2003       05-06-2008, 9:13 PM Reply   
My WS-420 got a serious workout this weekend at the spring ride during it's maiden voyage. I used every option on the device and it worked flawlessly. I am really happy now having the ability to adjust the boat and tower seperately. Not a trace of noise, I even paused my IPOD and cranked everything up to the max to see if I could hear a faint whine or buzz, nothing but silence. Keep in mind I have about 50' of RCA cables in my system as well as a revolution volume control and a maxxbass processor. I don't know what you guys are doing wrong getting noise, my guess is you guys getting noise are powering your components from different power sources. Everything component should be powered from your amp power distribution blocks, if you must use a keyed hot, that is the only thing that should be attached to the factory harness.
Old    Zach (zacharoo)      Join Date: Nov 2005       05-07-2008, 6:50 PM Reply   
What are good RCA cable?? Monster, stinger and JL are the only ones that jump out to me as good.
Old    Nu Bu (05mobiuslsv)      Join Date: Apr 2006       05-07-2008, 7:43 PM Reply   
Kicker, Rockford Fosgate, Street Wires. I've used them all and never had any issues. I also just ordered some Knukoncepts rca cables that are supposed to be triple shielded and they were pretty inexpensive.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 9:32 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us