Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through August 27, 2003 > Archive through May 13, 2004

Old     (rem_pss308)      Join Date: Mar 2004       04-12-2004, 1:37 PM Reply   
I have a Mastercraft 1993 Prostar 205 with 351 engine. I am interested to know about changing the transmission fluid.
Does anyone know what kind of oil this transmission takes,( what weight ) and how do I change the oil.( anything to be aware of ) I am familiar with automobiles, But new to the boats.I have changed the motor oil, and filter, impeller, and fuel filter.I read also on another thread that there are grease fittings on the steering. Does anyone know If I have any.
Old     (mastercraft1995)      Join Date: Nov 2002       04-12-2004, 1:56 PM Reply   
Go to a car parts store and look for a bulb that will let you connect a hose to either side of it. I don't know how to explain it. You will sqeeze it with your hand to drawn the fluid in/out. It will have arrows to show which way the fluid goes.

Get 2, 2 liters or 2 one gallon jugs empty and clean. Stick the the hose on the transmission and start sucking the tranmission fluid into one of the jugs. Make sure to move the hose around so that you get as much out as you can. Once you get it all out fill the other empty one up with the same amount that you took out. That way you put in the exact that you took out. Provided is was correct to start with. Then the first time you go to the water check it again. Always check your fluids in the water not on the trailer. I have done it this way for many years and it has yet to fail me. I use Dexron III transmision fluid. It will need 2 quarts. Take a spare quart of oil nad transmission fluid on the boat. A long with your spare impeller and alternator belt.