Wake 101
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search

TSR Wake Park Triple Crown


Wake Park Triple CrownThe cable was turning, the sun was shining, and the field had been whittled down to the very best for the final day of the Monster Energy Triple Crown presented by Alliance Wakeboard Magazine. The day began with the open men, obstacles and wakeskate events and, after a brief public session, the pro action got underway.

For the pro ladies, Netherlands’ Maxine Sapulette dominated all weekend with solid air tricks such as an S to blind and roll to blind to take home the title.

The pro wakeskaters went twice, once to cut it down to the final four and then again for the final run. Clint Tompkins was riding strong in the early rounds, stomping a kickflip off the incline. In the finals though, he wasn’t able to keep that trick under him and, despite his big spin off the kicker, he couldn’t top Andy Kolb.

The German rider laid down solid lines in the flats including a 3 shuv, big spin, backside big spin, body varial revert, flats backside 3, as well as a 270 shuv on the table, 360 off the kicker to take home first. For him though, being a spectator was the highlight. “I think the wakeboarding was especially intense,” Kolb said. “I was surprised for Freddie (Von Osten) and Dominik (Guhrs) for doing so well. I love Texas; the hotness, the people, the cable, just everything.”

As Andy said, the wakeboarding was the big show. Before the pro men final got started, the pros took to the obstacles where local boy Tom Fooshee had no trouble putting down the winning tricks. The pro men final though, which came down to Nick Davies, Freddie Von Osten, Dominik Guhrs and Tom Fooshee, was the real showdown.

The finals included heavy tricks such as an S-mobe by Fooshee, back mobe 5 by Guhrs, 315 by Von Osten and Back 900 by Davies. In the end though, Davies had trouble putting it together and 17-year-old Von Osten was there to pick up the slack. He was able to advance, where he’d end up head to head against the local Tom Fooshee. To no one’s surprise, Fooshee remained unbeatable and took home top honors.

“The contest went amazing, I couldn’t be any more happy with the competitors that came and how the results turned out,” Fooshee said. “I had the advantage to come out weeks before the event and train, but even so, these guys made me work harder than I’ve ever had to work. I was particularly excited about doing a backside 9 as I just learned it a week ago and all the mobe five variations kept me fired up.”

By the end of the day it was clear the event wasn’t just about winning, but about progressing the level of cable wakeboarding as well. In the finals, two toe 1260 attempts and a backside 10 were thrown, although no one was able to ride away.

The Monster Energy WWA Wake Park Triple Crown series is brought to you by Alliance Wakeboard Magazine, 1080, Ronix, Liquid Force, Slingshot and Pro-Tec. Don’t miss the next event in the WWA Triple Crown Series in Kansas City, MO at Kansas City Watersport, July 31st to August 1st, 2010.

Pro Men Finals
1. Tom Fooshee
2. Freddie Von Osten
3. Dominik Guehrs
4. Nick Davies
5t. Lior Sofer
5t. Marc Shuster
7t. Keith Lidberg
7t. Steffan Vollert
9t. Josh Rice
9t. Matt Hassler

Pro Women Finals
1. Maxine Sapulette
2. Nicola Butler

Pro Wakeskate Finals
1. Andy Kolb
2. Clint Tompkins

Pro Obstacles-Only Finals
1. Tom Fooshee - 100
2. Sam Scoggins - 72.22
3. Gabe Lucas - 66.67
4. Kyle Cameron - 61.11
5. Earl Ball - 33.33
6. Bryan Perez - 16.67

Pro Women Semifinals (top two riders advance)
1. Maxine Sapulette - 75.75
2. Nicola Butler - 62.5
3. Angelika Schriber - 57
4. Tor Young - 55.75

Pro Wakeskate Semifinals  (top two riders advance)
1. Andy Kolb
2. Clint Tompkins
3. Matt Davidson
4. Taylor Dell

Pro Men Qualifying (top two riders in each heat advance)

Heat #1
1. Marc Shuster - 71.25
2. Matty Hasler - 68.05
3. James Young - 67.50
4. Sebastian Szolath - 63.30

Heat #2
1. Nick Davies - 86.25
2. Lior Sofer - 77.6
3. Matty Denitis - 74.50
4. Donald Shelbrick - 26.70
Heat #3
1. Dominik Guehrs - 86
2. Josh Rice - 74.75
3. Andrew Adkison - 54.50
4. Cody Johnson - 51.75
5. Ryan Sanders -

Heat #4
1. Keith Lidberg - 84
2. Freddie Von Osten - 77.25
3. Austin Hair - 64.00
4. Sam Scoggins - 48.50
5. Earl Ball - 40.50
Heat #5 
1. Tom Fooshee - 89.25
2. Steffen Vollert - 80
3. Kyle Cameron - 66.75
4. Nico Von Lerchenfeld - 65.50
5. Bryan Perez - 25.50

Pro Wakeskate Qualifying (top three riders in each heat advance)

Heat #1
1. Andy Kolb - 91.7
2. Matt Davidson - 66
3. Aaron Reed - 64.25
4. Josh Zentmyer - 21.25

Heat #2
1. Clint Tompkins - 71
2. Taylor Dell - 53
3. Janik Von Lerchenfeld - 51.25
4. Bret Little - 50.25


Comments (0)

Please Login to Comment
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search


© 2016 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us