Wake 101
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search

Red Bull Wake Open Boat Format


Red Bull Wake OpenWakeboarding's top contest organizers and pro riders got together to discuss a forward-thinking strategy for the BOAT format at Red Bull Wake Open. This event is one of three categories (Big Air and Park are the other two) and will take place Thursday, July 12. 2012 Malibu Wakesetter MXZThe venue is closed to the public, but the footage will air on NBC from 1-3 p.m. EST on Sat., July 14 as part of the Red Bull Signature Series.
Viewers can expect to be psyched on the production quality, as the sport's top filmers will be on the water, ground and in the air with the best high-speed cameras in the world. Spectators (and boaters) are encouraged to come out for Big Air and Park finals in downtown Tampa on Friday and Saturday (schedule below).
The panel discussed the current wake formats, what would look good on TV, and having a consistent format across multiple disciplines to put on the best show for a mainstream audience. The conclusion appeared in the following format:
2012 Malibu Wakesetter MXZEach rider gets two opportunities (passes) at a five-trick run.

  • To push style elements, one of these tricks are required to be a 360 or less (360, 180, straight air).
  • At the end of two passes, each rider will get a double up of their choice (semis and finals only).
  • Judges are looking for style, execution, diversity, amplitude and difficulty.

The 20 invited riders will battle it out through the following system:

  • Qualifying Round: 4 rounds of 5 riders (top 2 transfer)
  • Semis: 2 rounds of 4 riders (top 2 transfer)
  • Finals: 1 round of 4 riders

2012 Malibu Wakesetter MXZBig Air Event:
Friday, July 13 4-8 p.m.
Park Event:
Saturday, July 14 12-3 p.m.
Tampa Convention Center
333 South Franklin Street
Tampa, FL 33602
Invited Riders (more to be included in Big Air and Park)
Shane Bonifay, Harley Clifford, Raphael Derome, Olivier Derome, Adam Errington, Tom Fooshee, Danny Harf, Randall Harris, Keith Lidberg, Steel Lafferty, Rusty Malinoski, Chris O'Shea, Daniel Powers, Aaron Rathy, Chad Sharpe, Dean Smith, Phil Soven, Shota Tezuka, JD Webb.


Comments (0)

Please Login to Comment
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search


© 2016 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us