Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME

Rider Link: Ken Ekblom Johansson

Share 

Ken Ekblom JohanssonWW: Let’s start with some stats… Name, age and where do you live?
KEJ: My name is Ken Ekblom Johansson, I am 23 years old and live in Sweden in a small town called Bålsta outside of Stockholm.
 
WW: For how many years have you been wakeboarding?
KEJ: I think I tried first time in 2000, so almost 14 years now.
 
WW: Who introduced you to the sport of wakeboarding?
KEJ: My dad got tired of waiting for wind to windsurf, so one day he came home with a wakeboard to have something to do while waiting for wind.
 
WW: What is the name of your local lake?
KEJ: The name of my lake is Mälaren.
 
Ken Ekblom JohanssonWW: Is there a bit of a wakeboard scene going on there?
KEJ: Not really. It is only my sister, dad and me that were riding here when I was young, but I am starting to see more people trying it out.
 
WW: Do you ride with the same people or do you venture out and ride with other wakeboarders?
KEJ: Well, it is always fun to ride with new people, but here in Sweden everyone knows everyone, so mostly ride with the same people.
 
WW: What kind of boat do you usually ride behind?
KEJ: I have a Tige 21V that we modified the bottom on so the wake gets better. But now I mostly ride cable parks.
 
WW: Is it more popular to ride cable parks in Sweden?
KEJ: Yes. Ever since the first cable park came to Sweden almost everyone stopped with boat riding. The gas over here is too expensive.
 
Ken Ekblom JohanssonWW: How about your wakeboard set up?
KEJ: This year I have an O’Brien Breddas board and O’Brien GTX bindings.
 
WW: Do you have a wakeboard shop in your area or do you have to buy wakeboard product online?
KEJ: The closest one is at the cable park, 50 minutes away.
 
WW: What do you enjoy most about wakeboarding?
KEJ: Even if the whole day is bad, wakeboarding always makes me relax and gets me in a good mood.
 
WW: What do you like to do when you’re not wakeboarding?
KEJ: I try to do a little bit of everything. For example, be with my friends, skateboard, jump on the trampoline, build my motorcycle, hiking, training, etc.
 
Ken Ekblom JohanssonWW: What kind of motorcycle are you building?
KEJ: I am building my one custom Suzuki GS 500. Almost like a cafe racer, but cooler.
 
WW: Are there any tricks that you are working on or want to work on?
KEJ: I did this ”nollie” to a down rail from a pool gap this winter, so I want to work on some more nollies onto rails and see how that works out.
 
WW: What would your ideal day be like?
KEJ: If I am not working, I usually call a friend to go wakeboarding in the morning. After that, I go and do some other fun stuff like skateboarding or training and later on in the day I just chill out with some friends, maybe build my motorcycle.
 
WW: What do you do for work?
Ken Ekblom JohanssonKEJ: I am roofer and work all around Stockholm. And also I just started my own company for like small projects.
 
WW: Pro wakeboarders… who would be your top three and why?
KEJ: I like Raph Derome’s style and the way he makes everything look so easy. I always liked Aaron Rathy behind the boat and it is nice to see Breddas pushing the limit and doing different tricks. It can be little bit boring sometimes to see people doing the same tricks with same style.
 
WW: Are there any spots that you are hoping to ride at?
KEJ: Philippines looks nice with the pool gap…would be nice to go there.
 
WW: Got any advice to people starting out?
KEJ: Do what you think is fun on the board and don't be afraid to fall. It is only water.
 
WW: Is there anyone that you would like to thank?
KEJ: Would like to thank my sponsors, Vattensport.nu, O’Brien, Jetpilot, Dragon, and all my awesome friends that make wakeboarding even more fun!



Share 

Comments (0)

Please Login to Comment
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us