Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Ryan Maheu (ryin)      Join Date: May 2002       06-14-2013, 7:59 AM Reply   
I have some spare 4ga wire left over after installing my amp and I want to add a second battery & switch. could I get away with using the 4ga wire to connect to the switch or do I need heavier gauge?
Old    Bryce Pool (bryce2320)      Join Date: May 2012       06-14-2013, 8:08 AM Reply   
Others will chime in, but I personally wouldnt run anything less than 0 gauge.
Old    RB (boardman74)      Join Date: Jul 2012       06-14-2013, 8:16 AM Reply   
1/0 is what experts recommended to me.
Old    Lane (LaneXSPower)      Join Date: Mar 2013       06-14-2013, 9:00 AM Reply   
If you are using that battery to run your engine, 4ga should be fine. If using as part of a battery bank, a larger gauge would be desirable.
Old    Ryan Maheu (ryin)      Join Date: May 2002       06-14-2013, 10:18 AM Reply   
it would be used to connect a battery switch and second battery together. so I should go 1/0 ga?
Old    Lane (LaneXSPower)      Join Date: Mar 2013       06-14-2013, 12:30 PM Reply   
Yes, 1/0 will be good if the battery is being used for things other than the motor. Plus, if the batteries are close to each other - you will only need 1-2 feet of 1/0.
Old    J (Jmorlan)      Join Date: May 2013       06-14-2013, 5:05 PM Reply   
I am running 0awg and my batteries are in the tray next to each other, 1ft of each is certainly enough.
Old    TigeMike (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       06-14-2013, 5:34 PM Reply   
Just some food for thought. If the the house (stereo) bank will be connected to a dual battery switch and used to start the engine on occasions, keep in mind that a typical V8 engine starter can easily draw 250A.
Old    Nick E (NickEspi)      Join Date: May 2013       06-15-2013, 6:05 AM Reply   
I'm using 4awg for switch connections and 2awg for bank grounding connection and starting bank to starter connection with no issues. It all depends on your setups draw. Blue Sea has a sizing chart for awg and fuses.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us