Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-09-2010, 11:55 AM Reply   
Does anyone know if a SYN4 could power 8 Rockford Fosgate Power Series speakers in 2 ohm mode? I currently have 4 6x9s and the 4 stock 6.5s in the cabin of my 2007 Malibu VTX. I'm using a Kicker 650.4, but can only wire it in 8 ohm mode, as the amp shuts off when wired in 2 ohms. Does anybody have experience powering 8 of these speakers?

I'm also open to other amp suggestions. Thanks in advance.
Old    Brett Yates (polarbill)      Join Date: Jun 2003       09-09-2010, 11:58 AM Reply   
It should work. I would think you could run the 4 6.5's off 2 channels giving each speaker a 100 watts and then the 4 6x9's off the other 2 channels at 100 watts each speaker.

Another option would be the Arc Audio KS300.4 would be another option that should work.

Last edited by polarbill; 09-09-2010 at 12:06 PM.
Old    Hate N Pain (hatepain)      Join Date: Aug 2006       09-09-2010, 12:11 PM Reply   
Thats weird your current amp isnt handling the 2 ohm load, its rated for it. You might want to check the speakers with and ohm meter to see what ohm they are at. Otherwise there is likely a problem with the amp you are currently using.
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-09-2010, 1:54 PM Reply   
I figured it would work too, as the amp has ratings at 2 ohms. When I had it wired in a 2 ohm load, the speakers would play, but not at higher volumes. I'm wondering if anyone else has tried to run 8 of the RF speakers on 1 4 channel amp.
Old    Hate N Pain (hatepain)      Join Date: Aug 2006       09-09-2010, 2:44 PM Reply   
So it cuts out at higher volumes? What gauge wire are You running to it?
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-09-2010, 3:36 PM Reply   
Hate - Yeah. 4 gauge wire, as recommended in the manual. I don't have an ohm meter to check it easily.
Old    Nu Bu (05mobiuslsv)      Join Date: Apr 2006       09-09-2010, 4:19 PM Reply   
How is the battery voltage. I've got the 8 rf speakers ran off 4 channels right now, never had any issues.
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-09-2010, 4:28 PM Reply   
Nu Bu - Battery voltage was good, as I had the boat on and underway. Which 4 channel are you running?
Old    Nu Bu (05mobiuslsv)      Join Date: Apr 2006       09-09-2010, 4:44 PM Reply   
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndavis03 View Post
Nu Bu - Battery voltage was good, as I had the boat on and underway. Which 4 channel are you running?
I'm running the jl hd 600/4 to the 8 interior at 2 ohms.
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-09-2010, 4:51 PM Reply   
I'm thinking about a SYN4 because it'd match the one I already have running my tower speakers. I wish I could get my hands on one of the JL HDs for a nice price.
Old    JM (suprabruiser)      Join Date: Jul 2008       09-09-2010, 10:29 PM Reply   
I'm powering 8 interior speakers at 2 ohm with a syn 4. No issues in Vegas summer heat this year.
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-10-2010, 8:37 AM Reply   
I sent an email over to the guys at Wetsounds, but have yet to receive a response. I'm wondering if it has something to do with the impendence of those particular speakers.
Old    Nu Bu (05mobiuslsv)      Join Date: Apr 2006       09-10-2010, 8:53 AM Reply   
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndavis03 View Post
I sent an email over to the guys at Wetsounds, but have yet to receive a response. I'm wondering if it has something to do with the impendence of those particular speakers.
I highly doubt that. It's either a wiring problem or an amp problem.
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-10-2010, 9:05 AM Reply   
Nu Bu - I just had Chucktronics re-wire my system. It is probably that particular amp then.
Old    Hate N Pain (hatepain)      Join Date: Aug 2006       09-10-2010, 9:11 AM Reply   
Its gotta be the amp. Did Chucktronics wire it in series for you or did the problem present itself after?
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-10-2010, 9:17 AM Reply   
Hate - They wired it up in 2 ohm, and I had to change it after.

I'd just like to make sure that the SYN4 would allow me to run these speakers in 2 ohms before buying it.
Old    Hate N Pain (hatepain)      Join Date: Aug 2006       09-10-2010, 9:26 AM Reply   
It'll absolutley handle the 2 ohm load assuming thats what your speakers are showing it, which is likely. I'm betting there's simply an issue with your current amp rather than the speakers. If you know anyone with a muti meter you can check the speakers resistance or you could grab one at Harbor Freight for like $10.
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-10-2010, 9:41 AM Reply   
I'll try to get ahold of a meter this weekend.
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-10-2010, 11:58 AM Reply   
According to WS the SYN4 should work with 8 of these speakers. However, they did recommend that I check the impendence w/ an ohm meter.
Old    Nic (_vitty_)      Join Date: Jul 2009       09-10-2010, 12:28 PM Reply   
I am running 8 wet sounds xs-650's off of syn-4. 2 speakers hooked in parallel share a single channel on the syn4 which presents the amp with a 2 ohm load.
Old    carlos (carlosdynamicaudiolodi)      Join Date: Aug 2009       09-10-2010, 1:33 PM Reply   
have you checked to see if you have a bad speaker? That will send the amp into protect, what code does your amp show when it shuts down?
Old    Nick (ndavis03)      Join Date: Jul 2006       09-10-2010, 1:49 PM Reply   
Carlos - I have not checked if I have a bad speaker, nor did I check the code on the amp (I don't think the Kicker KX series amp provide codes). I figured the speakers were okay since they play fine otherwise.
Old    carlos (carlosdynamicaudiolodi)      Join Date: Aug 2009       09-10-2010, 5:17 PM Reply   
Sorry Nick, read the first post wrong. I thought you already had the Wetsounds amp. Disregard the code question.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:10 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us