Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Daylorb (daylorb)      Join Date: Jul 2009       04-08-2010, 11:17 AM Reply   
Thought this would be easy, but I'm having some trouble. I bought two of these remotes. One to replace existing on dash, the other to add one to the transom next to the swim deck.

I read this thread - seems possible - and I've certainly seen this rigged up before, but I'm having trouble with all the connections.

http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/m...tml?1242954286

The question is how do I get two wired up. It doesn't look like I have two 3.5MM 3-way jacks - only one - and there is only one unilink port open for the remote, not two.

Thank you!
Old    Shawndoggy (shawndoggy)      Join Date: Nov 2009       04-08-2010, 11:59 AM Reply   
I haven't done this, but I have read the watersport innovations boost box manual. The boost box acts as a remote on sony decks. The boost box manual says to get a y cable like this one:



manual here -- it has a picture which describes this in more detail, but it's a pdf and I can't post it in this thread: http://watersportinnovations.com/sit...08/11/sony.pdf
Old    Bawshogg (bawshogg)      Join Date: Dec 2005       04-08-2010, 12:06 PM Reply   
Shawndoggy is right. You need the unilink splitter that shouldof came with the remote, and you need one of those deals at the back of the deck. Should get ya up and running.
Old    Shawndoggy (shawndoggy)      Join Date: Nov 2009       04-08-2010, 12:11 PM Reply   
Like this:



And you'll also need a sony unilink splitter like the one in this picture (the thing in the middle):

Old    Daylorb (daylorb)      Join Date: Jul 2009       04-08-2010, 12:16 PM Reply   
Awesome - thanks guys. I have the unlink splitter - the Y should be easy enough. So how do I wire the unilinks then?

Back of stereo goes into bottom of the Y on one unilink splitter - that has a remote input and a changer input... one remote goes into the remote input obviously - but then do I use a second splitter chained onto that one?

Also - is the 3.5MM just your every day standard stereo 3.5MM? Those splitters are at Radioshack and a dime a dozen.

Last edited by daylorb; 04-08-2010 at 12:21 PM. Reason: added info
Old    Shawndoggy (shawndoggy)      Join Date: Nov 2009       04-08-2010, 12:22 PM Reply   
Like I said, I've never done it, just read the manuals. Yes, I think you can daisychain them like that (deck to splitter to splitter) so you'd have three open unilink inputs instead of one.
Old    Shawndoggy (shawndoggy)      Join Date: Nov 2009       04-08-2010, 12:25 PM Reply   
and yes, I think the 3.5mm splitter is just a std headphone splitter. Can prolly score one on ebay or monoprice for under two bucks.
Old    Daylorb (daylorb)      Join Date: Jul 2009       04-08-2010, 1:32 PM Reply   
Okay - will give it a shot. Thanks for the fast replies!

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 5:14 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us