Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Video and Photography

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Pat S. (boynepat)      Join Date: Jul 2008       08-15-2009, 3:52 PM Reply   
I just got the canon HF 10 and when I use adobe premier elements on a pc to edit the video plays very choppy. I am going to be upgrading to a macbook pro soon but is there anything I can do in the meantime to fix this? Also how is final cut express 4? Is there some other software for around the same price that is better? Thanks for the help
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       08-15-2009, 3:53 PM Reply   
pc specs?
Old    Pat S. (boynepat)      Join Date: Jul 2008       08-16-2009, 6:49 AM Reply   
windows vista with amd turion 2 ghz processor, 2 gb of ram, 32 bit operating system on my dell inspiron 1521 notebook
Old    Kung Fu Wake & Video (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       08-17-2009, 11:14 AM Reply   
MACs fix all problems (including some marital)

I'm not familiar with Premiere Elements, but in Premiere Pro you have to render the time line first to get it to play back smoothly.

I checked the specs on the 1521 and it looks decent. Do you have all the default junk programs installed? When you look at your "Task Manager" how does your CPU/Memory usage look before and after) you start playing the video?

I have a Dell 620 with a dual core proc and 2 GB RAM and it plays back Panasonic's P2 (true 100 mbs HD footage) without any issues.
Old    Rich (rson)      Join Date: Jun 2002       08-20-2009, 11:00 PM Reply   
First you are on Vista
Second you are on a laptop.
Third you have only 2gb of ram. part is used for the video and the rest is hogged by Vista.


Thus your reasons for slow performance. You might be able to allocate more ram for video in the video settings. Get a 64 bit os, more ram and this might fix your issues.
Old    Roddyrod (wakeslife)      Join Date: Jul 2005       08-23-2009, 2:41 PM Reply   
Pat, AVCHD is a brutal format for playback/editing on a notebook (that isn't a mac). I ran into similar problems on a nearly identical system, yet my buddy's 2.4 ghz mbp with 2 gigs of ram handled the footage flawlessly.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 9:48 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us