Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakesurfing

Old     (stillentt)      Join Date: May 2007       06-15-2009, 5:57 PM Reply   
I've been wakeboarding for about 2 years and just bought an 06 moomba LS with gravity games III ballast system. The previous owner surfed behind this boat, so I know it is possible, but I don't yet have the finesse yet to get the wake I'm looking for and hoping for some pointers based on my setup:

The boat came with these two boards:
Hyperlite Broadcast
Inland Surfer limited edition

Ballast setup:
center=450lbs
rear left = 250
rear right = 250

Fat sacs:
1000lb triangle bow filler sac
2 - 250lb fat buddies square sacs

Questions I need answered:
Which board is easier to surf on a smaller wake?
How should I distribute my ballast setup?
How/Where do I need to place my fat sacs?
Are fat sacs required in order to get a surf wake out of a 21ft DD?
Best typical Speed for wakesurfing:
How sharp of a turn does the boat need to be for optimum wake?
Any other 'duh you should know this' facts about wakesurfing?

Any input appreciated.
Thanks,
Scotty
Old     (bigshow)      Join Date: Feb 2005       06-15-2009, 6:10 PM Reply   
Not sure what the limited edition IS board is, could be one of many. Both boards should be good. I've found the HL Broadcast to be a very good a beginner board. The IS boards are all good but again it's hard to tell which you’ve got.

I don't have much SC boat set up experience; I'll let someone else chime in on fat sacks and placement. But generally add weight to the surf side and to the stern, probably none in the bow.

Speed, anywhere from 9 to 12 MPH, more likely 10-ish.

It's best to drive straight, don’t turn. If your wake isn’t good going straight, fix something else.

Port side will probably be better than starboard.