Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through June 28, 2009

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Ken (ghostrider_2)      Join Date: Aug 2004       06-14-2009, 9:50 AM Reply   
Kinda curious, started the boat oil pressure was 40-70. The odd things is when I shut it down then restarted the oil pressure gauge didn't budge, not even jump when I turned the key a few times. I started her up and she ran for another 15 mins with no problems other than the gauge no moving. I took apart the dash and the wires are connected. Thinking maybe the oil pressure sending unit wires corroded? where is that thing located?

Sanger V215

(Message edited by ghostrider 2 on June 14, 2009)
Old    Ken (ghostrider_2)      Join Date: Aug 2004       06-14-2009, 6:14 PM Reply   
bump...
Old    Ian Scarlet (imscarlet)      Join Date: Mar 2008       06-14-2009, 7:07 PM Reply   
What engine do you have, the oil sender is usually on the RHS looking from the front of the boat and about half way along the block at the bottom for the Mercrusiers
Old    Ken (ghostrider_2)      Join Date: Aug 2004       06-14-2009, 7:18 PM Reply   
5.7 350
Old    Stephen Higgins (srh00z)      Join Date: Jun 2003       06-14-2009, 10:16 PM Reply   
Same thing happened to me this weekend. Mine is a 99 VLX with an Indmar Monsoon if anybody knows where the sending unit is on this motor. Mine is due for an oil change, so I was going to have the shop check the pressure back at the block.
Old    Brandon Burek (yubasanger)      Join Date: Jul 2007       06-15-2009, 12:29 AM Reply   
Kenny,
The sender is above the oil filter on the starboard side of motor it is screwed into a tee itís the one that looks like a large bell. What gauges do you have? If you have the Medallion combo gauge the needles are motorized and when you turn the key on should hear the motors sweep to 0 then return to reading. Might need to unhook battery cable for 30sec. to reset gauges some times the controller under the dash freaks out and needs to be reset. Hope this helps.
Old    Chasin7 T (chaser)      Join Date: Sep 2006       06-15-2009, 8:30 AM Reply   
I had the same problem. Changed the sender and so far so good.
Old    Ken (ghostrider_2)      Join Date: Aug 2004       06-15-2009, 1:31 PM Reply   
I do have those gauges and sometimes the oil one doesn't budge when I hit the key. I will try the battery option tonight/tomorrow. Curious why would only the oil being doing it and need resetting and not the others?
Old    Ken (ghostrider_2)      Join Date: Aug 2004       06-15-2009, 1:32 PM Reply   
Chasin how much did the sender cost you?
Old    Brandon Burek (yubasanger)      Join Date: Jul 2007       06-15-2009, 2:22 PM Reply   
Probably just the sender then. Mercury part# 815425T around $30.00.
http://www.boats.net/parts/detail/merc/M-815425T.html
Old    Brett Yates (polarbill)      Join Date: Jun 2003       06-15-2009, 2:39 PM Reply   
Looking at some pics the sending unit is a Datcon 02504-00. This is a 0-80psi with a single stud that is grounded through the body of the sending unit. It has 1/8" pipe thread. Kenny, if you need one it looks like I have one left in stock. I can get it out UPS tonight if you let me know by 4pm. It should only take one day if you are still in Oak Harbor.
Old    Ken (ghostrider_2)      Join Date: Aug 2004       06-15-2009, 2:40 PM Reply   
Thanks Brandon.
Old    Ken (ghostrider_2)      Join Date: Aug 2004       06-15-2009, 5:08 PM Reply   
gauges are moving fine now for the last 15 mins, wonder if it is only doing it when it gets hot from running... pulling stuff out and going to look at the sending unit tonight.

Brett how much?
Old    Brett Yates (polarbill)      Join Date: Jun 2003       06-15-2009, 5:42 PM Reply   
28.19 plus freight
Old    Brett Yates (polarbill)      Join Date: Jun 2003       06-15-2009, 5:45 PM Reply   
Kenny, that sending unit is grounded through the base so make sure there is no plumbers tape or thread sealant where it screws into the T. Also make sure the stud off the sending unit has a good connection to the wire.
Old    Ken (ghostrider_2)      Join Date: Aug 2004       06-16-2009, 12:49 AM Reply   
unit looks good, no corrosion, no loose wires looks brand new.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 1:04 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us