Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through April 26, 2009

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Waylon (wayz)      Join Date: Jun 2005       03-23-2009, 4:02 PM Reply   
I know this system is GPS based. I'm looking for input about this product for future purchase. Anyone using the new StarGazer system? Also, how easy/hard is the installation if you did it yourself? Thanks WW.
Old    Art (rallyart)      Join Date: Nov 2006       03-23-2009, 4:07 PM Reply   
Installation is very easy. Routing wires took the most time and effort. Set up is very easy. Use is very easy.
I'm happy with it. Now someone will chime in with a statement about river currents, that I don't care about.

(Message edited by rallyart on March 23, 2009)
Old    Scott Legge (w00taz)      Join Date: Jun 2007       03-23-2009, 4:21 PM Reply   
Install took a couple hours very doable and recommended.
Old     (insuranceman)      Join Date: Jun 2005       03-23-2009, 4:42 PM Reply   
i love it. great improvement over the pp wakeboard pro.

mine was a simple plug and play install.
Old    Jeff Kukuruda (ruste)      Join Date: Apr 2008       03-23-2009, 5:13 PM Reply   
just curious, i dont have PP at all, so what all do i need to purchase for stargazer and about how much money am i lookn at? thanks alot.

Jeff
Old    Bruce Mac (brucemac)      Join Date: Dec 2005       03-23-2009, 5:50 PM Reply   
$1150 or so is what I paid I think. you need to specify boat, request gauge color and specify mechanical or tbw (throttle by wire)

i installed mine last year. really happy with it.
Old    Greg (silvermustang35)      Join Date: Jul 2008       03-23-2009, 6:50 PM Reply   
I have PP stargazer on my I/O and love it...so much better than feathering the throttle to keep it stable. It is accurate within .2 mph constantly. I tested against my cell phone GPS and a handheld Garmin receiver. I think I paid about 1350 installed with tax.
Old    michaelspsp (michaelspsp)      Join Date: Sep 2007       03-23-2009, 7:04 PM Reply   
what if you have an older perfect pass. is it worth it to upgrade? how much? and where do you get it?
Old    Brock Landers (formfunction)      Join Date: Jun 2008       03-23-2009, 7:23 PM Reply   
Michael,your best bet would be to remove your old system,sell it in the classifieds and purchase the stargazer

(Message edited by formfunction on March 23, 2009)
Old     (polkaking27)      Join Date: Feb 2005       03-23-2009, 8:45 PM Reply   
or you can upgrade for $469 I believe, and save the hassle of selling the current system... unless you want to sell it to me for really cheap!!!

Here is PP's website

www.perfectpass.com
Old    michaelspsp (michaelspsp)      Join Date: Sep 2007       03-24-2009, 8:49 AM Reply   
thanks cody! i am contacting PP now!
Old    Tony (supraride)      Join Date: Jun 2007       03-24-2009, 8:19 PM Reply   
My question is would this work good in an area that has alot of canyons, hills or mountains or would it not work in these conditions? I might get this if it works everywhere. Thanks
Old    Bruce Mac (brucemac)      Join Date: Dec 2005       03-24-2009, 8:20 PM Reply   
yes
Old    Tony (supraride)      Join Date: Jun 2007       03-24-2009, 8:23 PM Reply   
Thanks, this sounds really good. Is it easy as a simple plug and play install to replace pp wakeboard pro in a supra?
Old    Art (rallyart)      Join Date: Nov 2006       03-24-2009, 8:45 PM Reply   
tony, I've had signal drop in a couple of places on the Shuswap lake in the mountains of central BC. For me, relocating the antenna puck made a big difference. It would be less of a problem further south.
Old    Tony (supraride)      Join Date: Jun 2007       03-24-2009, 9:12 PM Reply   
Art, So does it not work at all when that happens? I am in calif. do you think that would happen here?
Old    Bruce Mac (brucemac)      Join Date: Dec 2005       03-24-2009, 10:45 PM Reply   
no

Upload
Old    Art (rallyart)      Join Date: Nov 2006       03-24-2009, 11:20 PM Reply   
Tony, what mine did was freeze. It still kept the same speed on display but the boat slowed down. When it kicked back in the boat over shot and then returned to running right. I got blamed for it all until I figured it out. It also happened once when someone in the bow was leaning over the puck. Finding the right location helped a lot.
All of California is so much further south I don't expect it would be a problem. We get a great lock on the North Pole satellite but the rest are on the equator and it's an angle shot across the horizon to get them. I just know it can be an issue but it does not matter if you still have enough locked in. I thought about putting the puck on top of the tower but did not have to.
I can still get a problem but it's easy to avoid the problem now, and I know just what's happening if it shows up.
I'm still really happy with it.

Nice dash Bruce. I ordered mine with the Sanger logo. You can get Supra and others too.
Old    Ian Brown (wakereviews)      Join Date: Sep 2006       03-25-2009, 5:23 AM Reply   
shamless plug but we offer it for 75 bucks off for WW members :-)
Old    Tony (supraride)      Join Date: Jun 2007       03-25-2009, 7:53 AM Reply   
Art & Bruce, Thanks for the info. Did you guys order from PP? The logo on it would be nice.
Old    Art (rallyart)      Join Date: Nov 2006       03-25-2009, 8:17 AM Reply   
I ordered from a rep after talking to PP. Mine took less time to get to the rep than it took me to pick it up from him.
Old    Waylon (wayz)      Join Date: Jun 2005       03-25-2009, 8:39 AM Reply   
Has anyone attempted to install this on their own? I've read that the GPS based system has a lot less wires and no more paddle wheel hook up. Is the install manual pretty straight forward? My system is coming in a few days, stoked!
Old    Tony (supraride)      Join Date: Jun 2007       03-25-2009, 8:55 AM Reply   
Waylon, Let me know how it goes. If its easy I am in. Thanks
Old    Bruce Mac (brucemac)      Join Date: Dec 2005       03-25-2009, 9:30 AM Reply   
super easy install.
Old    Aaron (alindquist)      Join Date: Mar 2004       03-25-2009, 10:30 AM Reply   
Will this work on an IO with a mechanical throttle? I had always thought that you had to have TBW to make this work...
Old    Art (rallyart)      Join Date: Nov 2006       03-25-2009, 10:40 AM Reply   
Yes, it works very well. Mine is a Morse control mechanical throttle.
Old    Jeff Kukuruda (ruste)      Join Date: Apr 2008       03-25-2009, 10:41 AM Reply   
dear only inboards,
haha, so what kind of price we lookn at for a complete stargazer system for a 98 nautique vdrive? (WW member, military, aarp) haha! thanks, very interested.

Jeff
Old    Ian Brown (wakereviews)      Join Date: Sep 2006       03-25-2009, 10:50 AM Reply   
email sent.
Old    Waylon (wayz)      Join Date: Jun 2005       03-25-2009, 11:34 AM Reply   
Bruce, I hope it's easy. I'm pretty good with stereo and small service work. I think the hardest part is taking the dash apart and mounting the PP. We'll see how it goes. Thanks for the input everyone.
Old    Kris (zammer)      Join Date: Jan 2008       03-30-2009, 8:37 AM Reply   
Hey,

I'm installing the stargazer on my 2006 Sanger V210 and I'm at the point now where i need to hook up the rpm wires to the existing RPM Tach.. I need a bit of help as I'm not sure which color wires to tap into. Any help would be appreciated
Old    Ian Brown (wakereviews)      Join Date: Sep 2006       03-30-2009, 9:30 AM Reply   
Just to clarify the offer i mentioned above, that is only for the full edition of Stargazer Wake, not the upgrade kit.
Old    Scott Legge (w00taz)      Join Date: Jun 2007       03-30-2009, 9:42 AM Reply   
I got mine off onlyinboards. Very smooth transaction. I would do it again no hesitation.
Old    Art (rallyart)      Join Date: Nov 2006       03-30-2009, 9:45 PM Reply   
zammer, the grey wire is usually the tach.
You might also find a marked pickup wire at saying 'tach' or 'rpm' at on the engine near the distributor.
If you find one you can run a wire directly from that source to the Stargazer pickup.
Old    Antonio Vega (t0nyv831)      Join Date: Jun 2008       04-02-2009, 9:05 PM Reply   
Ian, don't remeber if I mentioned to you I am also a WW member when I purchased my PP on the 1st. Hook a brotha up man!
Old    Antonio Vega (t0nyv831)      Join Date: Jun 2008       04-03-2009, 2:46 PM Reply   
Ian, just wanted to publicly say thanks for the discount. My bad for not mentioning I was member earlier. Everyone, if you're looking into getting PP give Ian a call, helped me out a ton and has the best price I could find. End hijack!

Tony

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us