Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through March 18, 2009

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    David (colombiansurfer)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-14-2009, 5:28 PM Reply   
I am working on getting my supplies together, and want a DDB for the system. Do not need one for the Negative side. Unless someone thinks it is good to have. I do not see any benefit in it.
Old    David (colombiansurfer)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-14-2009, 5:31 PM Reply   
One other thing, how are you guys with multiple amps wiring the remote wire? One wire from the Radio and then split it to the other amps? I do not know if the WS 420 has this built in or not.
Old    dhcomp (dhcomp)      Join Date: Jun 2003       03-14-2009, 5:33 PM Reply   
For the multiple amps, have the remote from teh deck feed a relay, and send 12v direct from teh relay to all the amp turn on's.
Old    David (colombiansurfer)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-14-2009, 5:38 PM Reply   
dhcomp, So what would I use? Something like a small distribution block? I know I must sound stupid on this, but I am trying to understand it.
Old    murph (smuurph84)      Join Date: Oct 2008       03-14-2009, 6:03 PM Reply   
sorry to hijack the thread but I have the same question? about the remote wire, and I am trying to figure out how to wire a second amp? I have found some threads suggesting the distribution block is it really needed for only two amps? does anybody have some links to a diagram?
Old    TigeMike (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       03-14-2009, 6:08 PM Reply   
I use Tsunami, www.tsunamionline.com, I haven't used their digital blocks, but I use their non-fused.

If you are still planing on going with 3 amps, I would use a relay triggered by the H/U's remote turn-on.
Old    TigeMike (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       03-14-2009, 6:10 PM Reply   
Murph,

For a 2nd amp, just come off the 1st amp's remote turn-on terminal with a wire to the 2nd amp.
Old    TigeMike (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       03-14-2009, 6:16 PM Reply   
David,

Get a typical Bosch style 5 terminal relay:

Term 85 = H/U's remote turn-on
Term 86 = Ground
Term 30 = Battery feed
Term 87 = To amp's remote turn-on input.
Term 87A = unused.
Old    David (colombiansurfer)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-14-2009, 6:55 PM Reply   
Term 85 = H/U's remote turn-on
Term 86 = Ground <-- coming from the batt?
Term 30 = Battery feed <-- coming from the positive on the batt?
Term 87 = To amp's remote turn-on input. <-- Have all 3 wires clamped together and the ends going seperate amps?
Term 87A = unused.

I hope I read that correct.

EDIT: I found the socket for the relay, so that will make it a lot easier.

(Message edited by colombiansurfer on March 14, 2009)
Old    TigeMike (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       03-14-2009, 7:18 PM Reply   
^^^ You could run 3 wires (all crimped into same terminal) to each amp or daisy chain them - 1 wire from relay to amp 1, then from amp1 to amp2, and amp2 to amp3. Either way works.

For 86 and 30, if the batteries are close, you can run from there, or just use the amps or H/U's power and ground since you're not pulling a lot of current for this.
Old    David (colombiansurfer)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-14-2009, 7:44 PM Reply   
I will have the batts and amps in the storage compartment. So I will have the relay mounted in there somewhere. I like the daisy chain idea also.
Old    TigeMike (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       03-14-2009, 7:48 PM Reply   
For more DDB's, check out Blackmore www.blackmoremobile.com I haven't used anything from them, but it looks pretty sick!
Old    David (colombiansurfer)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-14-2009, 8:57 PM Reply   
Mike, there stuff looks great! The DDB are a little awkward. Since I am running 2 batts parallel, I will have only one input and need 3 or 4 outputs. I want the input to be between 0 and 4 AWG and the output to be 8 AWG. They are different outputs. They are great if I had 2 inputs. Is that high dollar?
Old    David (colombiansurfer)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-14-2009, 9:12 PM Reply   
Soundstreeam looks good too!
Old    Mikeski (mikeski)      Join Date: Aug 2003       03-15-2009, 1:36 AM Reply   
Upload

This is my favorite distribution block. You don't need the digital readout on the block, you need it on the dash. You do need a distribution block for the negative side too.
Old    murph (smuurph84)      Join Date: Oct 2008       03-15-2009, 5:18 AM Reply   
thanks for the info mike
Old    TigeMike (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       03-15-2009, 8:43 AM Reply   
David,

After a closer look, I see what you mean, the only 1-in/4-out is diff sizes. Here is an option:

The FBWM801 is a digital fused dist block with one 1/0ga or 4ga in/out, then use two of the DB8014's non-fused Dist blocks They are one 1/0ga in & four 4ga out. Use one on the positive side after the fused DDB and one on the Neg side. It gives you the digital read-out of the battery state and an LED fuse status plus the 4 way distribution that you need.
Old    Bruce Mac (brucemac)      Join Date: Dec 2005       03-15-2009, 11:24 AM Reply   
mikeski, what does that one give you? is that p&g in one?
Old    David Griffith (davidggriffith)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-15-2009, 12:18 PM Reply   
bruce yes its pos and neg in one it does o gauge for both and 4 gauge outputs i have one in my boat i works really well
Old    David (colombiansurfer)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-15-2009, 5:56 PM Reply   
Mikeski - Yeah, I am going to use a fused dist. blk. for the negative side for sure. Just something simple. The reason I wanted a DDB, is because I am going to get the Link 10 and have that on my dash, but in case that goes out or for some reason it fails, the DDB will have a readout. Some of them have and low bat alarm, which I think is a little too much.

Mike - I will look at those to get the idea of what you are talking about.
Old    John Bauer (jonyb)      Join Date: Nov 2008       03-15-2009, 8:52 PM Reply   
Multiple amp remote-turn on diagram....

Upload
Old    Bruce Mac (brucemac)      Join Date: Dec 2005       03-17-2009, 8:11 AM Reply   
that streetwires combo block is disco'd and nowhere to be found :-(

bummer too, because it's just what i need.

i'm not seeing any of their other products that has two 0 gauge inputs and 4 gauge outputs in a nice combo like that.

if anybody knows where to score one of those CBR44S, CBR44M or CBR44A let me know.
Old    Adam R (wakecumberland)      Join Date: Oct 2007       03-17-2009, 9:38 AM Reply   
Do you use a standard distribution block for the ground block?
Old    C. R. (crushing76)      Join Date: Feb 2007       03-17-2009, 10:21 AM Reply   
It's not all that fancy, but it is perfect of what I need... One 1/0 input and three 4ga outputs...

http://www.darvex.com/SPD515/Stinger+0+-+4+Gauge+Distribution+Block.html
Old    Bruce Mac (brucemac)      Join Date: Dec 2005       03-17-2009, 10:27 AM Reply   
nevermind, only the CBR44S will work for me. i didn't realize the amp limit on AGU (CBR44A) and Maxi (CBR44M) fuses was that low. I need the CBR44S with ASF fuses. still looking but no luck finding one. i like the looks of this one and the fact it's all in one. wish it wasn't disco'd.

(Message edited by brucemac on March 17, 2009)
Old    tlat (tlatoani)      Join Date: Oct 2007       03-17-2009, 11:10 AM Reply   
Soundstream power plant +1
Old    J B (bjeremi)      Join Date: Mar 2006       03-17-2009, 11:34 AM Reply   
Hijack "What would be a good digital readout gauge to get." Hijack over
Old    David (colombiansurfer)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-18-2009, 7:36 AM Reply   
If you want to go with the least amount connections, which is what I want to do, then Soundstream and Stinger have good DDB's. I only want one DDB and use a non-D DB for the negative side.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:16 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us