Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through March 18, 2009

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    James (wakegr8)      Join Date: Mar 2009       03-13-2009, 10:53 AM Reply   
Hi i'm getting a double up package (MB-8's and PRO 60's) for my boat i have aready got a 4 channel Rockford fosgate 450-4 Punch amp installed and was planing to use it to power the wetsound setup.
Is this ok or a bad idea? Please help?
Old    eric ivey (ericlee)      Join Date: Apr 2007       03-13-2009, 11:12 AM Reply   
Not positive but I had that same amp as well with my Malibu and I bought a different amp to power my wetsounds. I dont think it had enough power to fully get everything out of the wetsounds
Old    Big Nate (thesack)      Join Date: Mar 2008       03-13-2009, 11:23 AM Reply   
The Fosgate amp will power them...just will be underpowered.

To get the maximum use out of them i would look at getting an amp like this one...

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_6600_Kicker+ZX650.4.html
Old    Tim White (wetsounds1)      Join Date: Jan 2006       03-13-2009, 11:52 AM Reply   
James,

The MB-8 and PRO 60 are both rated at 150 rms. So anytime looking at an amp. You want to try to get as close as you can to the RMS ratings. And the ratings at 4 ohms which you will be running it at.

That rockford amp is rated at 60x4. The amp the sack shows is 120x4. Both at 4 ohms stereo.

That is the rating you need to look at. I like to run at least a 125x4 to the Double Up. We recommend the SYN-4 that is 125x4. Some are even running the SYN-6 to the Double Up, it will do 200x2 and 155x2 in 4 ch mode. (200 to the MB-8 and 155 to the PRO-60)

So the Rockford amp would be really under powered. Now since you have that amp. You could bridge it in 2 ch mode on the MB-8 and pick up another amp for the PRO 60's maybe. I cannot find the bridge power spec but it is probably 150x2 in 2 ch mode.

If you were running 2 pairs of 60ís or two pairs of 80ís. you can get a 2 channel amp like the SYN-2. But I prefer to run the Double Up with the MB-8 and 60ís on their own channels. So you can cross over the MB-8ís lower and get the most out of them.

Tim
Wet Sounds
Old    James (wakegr8)      Join Date: Mar 2009       03-13-2009, 12:55 PM Reply   
Thanks guy's for your help. Think i will run with the amp i have for now in till i have the money for a new one.

Thanks
Old    Mike Parker (roughrivermike)      Join Date: Apr 2006       03-13-2009, 1:03 PM Reply   
Tim, Would my 4 pro 80 setup sound better running 2 syn2 amps at 4 ohms rather than 1 syn2 amp at 2 ohms? would I notice a big difference?
Old    Tim White (wetsounds1)      Join Date: Jan 2006       03-13-2009, 1:38 PM Reply   
Mike,

You would gain some headroom as you would have a bit more power. 200x2 vs 175x2 But the SYN-2 has a ton of power as you have it now. You would be gaining headroom and having a bit cleaner sound. So a difference, yes but probably not a night and day. would have to be your call on worth the investment!

Tim
Wet Sounds

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 4:10 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us