Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Video and Photography

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Nate Hudson (iamnathanhudson)      Join Date: Dec 2002       06-19-2008, 8:38 AM Reply   
Hey everyone! Just wanted to share my stokedness with everyone about my two new cameras.

The day before yesterday I ordered my new video Camera! After about 4 months of looking at all the camera's that would fit in my budget and be the best possible for what I am doing, I decided to order the Canon Vixia HF100 and have it overnighted! I got it yesterday and let me just say that this camera is sweet! After taking several small random test shots and playing with the footage in Final Cut, I am way impressed with it! I am going out riding with friends today so hopefully, by this weekend, I can post my edited video of the afternoon!

The same day I ordered the camera, I decided to go out and get me a nice little point and shoot camera! My reasoning for this is that I just don't focus on photography as much as I focus on video. (I edit video for a living.) I had a point and shoot that was an old school 5 megapixel camera from sony but it had just died. I also had a really nice P880 from Kodak(8MP). It was probably the closest thing at the time to getting a DSLR without actually getting a DSLR! It was and still is an awesome camera but I just don't use it because it is so big. SO ANYWAYS, I went with the FUJIFILM Finepix J10! It is super tiny and puts out great clear pictures. Plus as a bonus it is the highest pixel count of all the cameras i have owned (barely) at 8.2 MP. I can't speak enough of how impressive this little thing is. It is super responsive and always seems to put out a clear picture. I know it doesn't touch all the nice gear some of you guys have but it suits me just fine.

So does anyone else have any of these? How many Canon fans are on this site? What about Fujifilm?

Sorry for the pointless rambling on...I'm just really stoked!
Old    Rich Dykmans (richd)      Join Date: Oct 2003       06-19-2008, 8:27 PM Reply   
I'd like to see your video from the HF100. Is FCP converting your footage to ProRes or the AIC when you injest?

Panasonic is releasing a semipro camera this fall which uses AVCHD but with a bit rate up to 24 mbs that supposedly will knock everyone's socks off from an IQ standpoint. It's got the same CCD block as the new HVX200a / HPX170 and records to single SDHC card.
Old    Chris Hopf (chrishopf)      Join Date: Sep 2007       06-20-2008, 1:27 AM Reply   
congrats man. can't wait for the vid
Old    Nate Hudson (iamnathanhudson)      Join Date: Dec 2002       06-20-2008, 1:49 PM Reply   
Hey Rich,

Apparently the Panasonic I think your talking about and that i read about has what they are calling a 3MOS system. Never heard of 3MOS but sounds interesting. My camera like a lot of the newer AVCHD cameras uses CMOS. My camera is pumping at a 17mbs bitrate. Unfortunately, I am ingesting the footage through AIC because I am using FCE 4. I wish I had FCP. Your more than welcome to send me a copy. LOL! The footage looks really good, at least to me. I would go as far as saying it is the best looking footage from any HD CONSUMER Camera out.

AS A SIDENOTE: I use Avid Nitris DS at work which is just phenomenal! Too bad it doesn't support AVCHD yet. It is far more powerful than anything out there! Yes, that means final cut pro as well. If they only made Nitris DS for Macs as well as making it more compatible, I would be truly happy!
Old    Nate Hudson (iamnathanhudson)      Join Date: Dec 2002       06-20-2008, 1:53 PM Reply   
Is this the Panny you were talking about?

http://www.engadget.com/2008/06/18/panasonics-hdc-sd100-and-hdc-hs100-avchd-camcorders-now-with-e/http://http://www.engadget.com/2008/06/18/panasonics-hdc-sd100-and-hdc-hs100-avchd-camcorders-now-with-e/
Old    Rich Dykmans (richd)      Join Date: Oct 2003       06-20-2008, 6:03 PM Reply   
No it uses CCD's here's a link to it:

http://www.dv.com/news/news_item.php?articleId=196603795

It's going up to 24 mbs as far as bitrate goes. Panasonic is saying IQ is as good as the new XDCam EX sony is using in the EX1 which is a 35 mbs mpeg2 VBR long GOP format as well. The only thing I wish it had was over/under crank in 720p.

The AIC is pretty good I hear, I'm not sure ProRes is going to do you much good unless your doing a lot of green screen or compositing.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us