Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through June 08, 2008

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       06-02-2008, 4:00 PM Reply   
i have a sub box similar to the pics below in my truck w/ 1 - jl audio 10w1v2-4.

Upload
Upload
Upload

not that i'm not 100% satisfied, but i'm curious if there's a "better" performing sub w/ the same mounting depth as my current w1.
Old    Jason (titanwake)      Join Date: Nov 2007       06-02-2008, 4:22 PM Reply   
What's the volume of the enclosure it's in? Is it sealed? What amp are you using to power the JL?
Old    Ben (soundbox)      Join Date: Oct 2007       06-02-2008, 10:46 PM Reply   
Boston G1 10"
Old    Big Nate (thesack)      Join Date: Mar 2008       06-02-2008, 11:32 PM Reply   
Why is everyone so lazy and can't do there own research on there gear and what they want to replace it with?
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       06-02-2008, 11:53 PM Reply   
the better question is why are people so gawd damn uptight about a thread? if you don't like it, click back on your browser. problem solved.

numbers and figures don't mean shiat to me. i'd much rather hear from others their personal experience.
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       06-03-2008, 12:15 AM Reply   
jason, none of the product description i found online mention box volume. it's a ported box. the amp i'm using (for now) is a koiiler xm-7676. it's just an amp that i bought a while back to put a bit of bass in my old car. i'm currently running that off the stock headunit. i plan on getting a new amp for the sub, and a 4-ch amp for the mids and highs (at some point). i have a set of jbl's for the front (not installed yet), i still need a set for the rear, and looking for an in-dash lcd.
Old    Jason Neves (jv210)      Join Date: Feb 2006       06-03-2008, 9:31 AM Reply   
Joe I have the same truck and run the MTX box thats goes under that seat, it a sealed box. Mine is mounted from the bottom of the box, not pointing up like in that picture. The speaker that came with it is only 4 ohm speaker and my amp pushes 400 watts at 2 ohms. It sounds alright, but once a get a 2 ohm speaker I think it will sound really good. The speaker in there now has a mounting depth of 5 9/16", but MTX has a 2 ohm thin speaker with only a 3.325" mounting depth.

(Message edited by jv210 on June 03, 2008)
Old    Big Nate (thesack)      Join Date: Mar 2008       06-03-2008, 1:12 PM Reply   
Don't get your panties in a knot joe.

Q-logic Box for your F150 about 300. Its a down facing mount for the sub (bigger boon). It is made for a 10" sub, cut it out and add a 3/4" square spacer using Gorilla Glue. Then add the Kicker L5 10", make sure your amp can power it.
Old    Jason Neves (jv210)      Join Date: Feb 2006       06-03-2008, 1:16 PM Reply   
N Adams, those boxes only work in f150's up to 03. From joes picture he has a 04 or up f150.
Old    Big Nate (thesack)      Join Date: Mar 2008       06-03-2008, 1:18 PM Reply   
I have an 05 with that box.
Old    Jason Neves (jv210)      Join Date: Feb 2006       06-03-2008, 1:23 PM Reply   
Your right, their websites sucks. It list a crewcab and super crew, with different years for each one.
Old    Nacho (denverd1)      Join Date: May 2004       06-03-2008, 1:27 PM Reply   
easy, Joe. Sounds like you're the one getting "so gawd damn uptight about a thread".

to answer your question, JL came out with a TW5 line of subs. They have a 2.5" mounting depth and are available up to the 13.
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       06-03-2008, 1:41 PM Reply   
after 13k+ posts, i think you'll know when i'm uptight.

thanks for the help, y'all! the bass sounds really good right now, and know that once i do get a "real" amp, it could sound even better.

n adams, i actually considered the q logic box, but i found the probox w/ the jl on craigslist for $90. i just couldn't say no to that. turned out to be one hell of a steal!

nacho, would the tw5 line be considered an upgrade in sound quality with such a short mounting depth? is it a 2 or 4 ohm?

jason, which mtx are you running?
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       06-03-2008, 1:57 PM Reply   
nacho, according to jl's site, the tw5 is only available in 12s and 13s.
Old    Big Nate (thesack)      Join Date: Mar 2008       06-03-2008, 2:01 PM Reply   
Only problem with that box its up firing. Your killing your sub and your sound quality.

And before you consider buying a new sub. Get the AMP! The amp is more important. Save the money and buy one that will last for a few years that will work with pretty much every sub you will buy. Get like a Kicker 750.1 or 1000.1 or the MTX 8100.1 (my personal choice). Dont skip on the amp EVER, if you do your system will sound like crap.

(Message edited by thesack on June 03, 2008)
Old    Nacho (denverd1)      Join Date: May 2004       06-03-2008, 2:09 PM Reply   
you like the 10? I thought you were upgrading...

i'd put a decent sub under the seat before a screen in the dash, but thats just me.

And I'll second NutSack said. How many watts is the Koala bangin out? Put an amp in there dude. You haven't maxed out your sub.

(Message edited by denverd1 on June 03, 2008)
Old    Nacho (denverd1)      Join Date: May 2004       06-03-2008, 2:15 PM Reply   
NAdams, my bad. couldn't remem your name!
Old    Big Nate (thesack)      Join Date: Mar 2008       06-03-2008, 2:21 PM Reply   
No problem Nacho. You gotta have it all in your truck thought. The DVD screen is a must. And you dont even have to try to install a by-pass for it to work.
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       06-03-2008, 2:37 PM Reply   
koala

according to their site, the xm-7676 puts out 260 x 1 @4ohms.

yeah, i know i need a good amp. unfortunately, a high $$$$ amp isn't in the budget right now, thus me keepin' an eye on craigslist.

do you guys have a 4ch amp to power the mid&highs? where did you guys mount it, under the front passenger seat? as you can see from the pic, there's no room for another amp.

Upload
Old    Jason Neves (jv210)      Join Date: Feb 2006       06-03-2008, 2:45 PM Reply   
Joe, I mounted mine behind the back seat.
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       06-03-2008, 2:47 PM Reply   
how hard was it to r&r the back seat?
Old    Jason Neves (jv210)      Join Date: Feb 2006       06-03-2008, 2:49 PM Reply   
pain in the arse. definitely need small writs. I had my lady help me out. I believe ford-trucks.com has a how-to on it.
Old    Big Nate (thesack)      Join Date: Mar 2008       06-04-2008, 8:51 PM Reply   
I have a 4 channel amp powering the my component speakers. It is mounted behind the back seat. I have big wrists and its not that hard to get the rear seat out. Go in about 8 inches to a foot on each side of the rear seat in between the the back and the seat itself and you can feel the plastic piece you have to push it. Or just google how to do it, i am pretty sure like Jason said its on ford-trucks.com too.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us