Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through March 24, 2008

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Leo Lasecki (malibuboarder75)      Join Date: Jan 2004       03-18-2008, 5:22 PM Reply   
I have a 95w appliance that I want to run on the boat. Will a 100w car inverter work. Is it safe?
Old    TigeMike (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       03-18-2008, 5:25 PM Reply   
Blender?
Old    Leo Lasecki (malibuboarder75)      Join Date: Jan 2004       03-18-2008, 5:37 PM Reply   
Actually a pump.
Old    TigeMike (chpthril)      Join Date: Oct 2007       03-18-2008, 5:45 PM Reply   
Details!!!

I've used a small one to power my laptop, had no problems.

Does it say how many Amps DC it draws. If the 100w inverter has a breaker that would trip in case of over load, then give it a shot.
Old    Leo Lasecki (malibuboarder75)      Join Date: Jan 2004       03-18-2008, 5:48 PM Reply   
That is what I dont understand. The pump says 95W and 1.33 Amps. If P=IV, then this is wrong. Because at 110V, the power should equal 146 Watts. Everywhere states that this pump is under 95 watts. As far as power inverters, they are rated on watts not amps. So wouldn't a 95w amp run on a 100w continuous inverter?
Old    Cliff (ord27)      Join Date: Oct 2005       03-18-2008, 5:53 PM Reply   
I run a 500w inverter hooked to a breaker so things won't blow fuses

if you haven't purchased one yet....just go bigger
woo hoo

check out the chart on the optima battery site
cant find the link....I have it bookmarked at home

I will post it later

it pretty much tells you how big of a inverter to use based on appliance used
Old    Mark Fletcher (fletch_tx)      Join Date: Aug 2003       03-18-2008, 6:00 PM Reply   
is there any danger of running that large of an inverter on your boat? would a larger alternator be a requirement?
Old    Cliff (ord27)      Join Date: Oct 2005       03-18-2008, 6:04 PM Reply   
my stereo guy didnt think so
I power a 4 hp vacuum/blower/inflator
blows up a 2 man tube in no time!

i just forget to turn it on, so it will "charge"
takes a little bit to "charge"
Old    Cliff (ord27)      Join Date: Oct 2005       03-18-2008, 6:08 PM Reply   
can't remember which one I have....it might be larger than 500
I will check that also....later

http://www.nextag.com/cobra-power-inverter/search-html
Old    Leo Lasecki (malibuboarder75)      Join Date: Jan 2004       03-18-2008, 6:16 PM Reply   
How many watts does the blower consume?
Old    Cliff (ord27)      Join Date: Oct 2005       03-18-2008, 7:27 PM Reply   
I cant remember Leo
I will have to post when I get home

but that'll be midnight central time.....
Old    Cliff (ord27)      Join Date: Oct 2005       03-18-2008, 7:33 PM Reply   
http://www.bartswatersports.com/catalog/Tubes_and_Towables/InflatorDeflators/MagicAir_Commercial_InflatorDeflator/index.asp

http://www.metrovacworld.com/Shopping/product.asp?catalog_name=metrovac&category_name=&p roduct_id=MagicAirDeluxe

found that one

I am actually thinking about going with the dida-2 instead....for the boat
the dida-4 is a beast
Old    Cliff (ord27)      Join Date: Oct 2005       03-18-2008, 7:40 PM Reply   
ah
found the other site also
Leo, I hope this helps

http://www.1st-optima-batteries.com/optima_inverter_applications.asp
Old    Peter_C (peter_c)      Join Date: Sep 2001       03-18-2008, 8:19 PM Reply   
Leo, that is not enough margin. There will be a giant spike on start up, for any electric motor. Go bigger. In fact get one rated at over 1000 watts so you can run a blender. I paid $75 for one from Costco that is 1750 watts.
Old    Cliff (ord27)      Join Date: Oct 2005       03-18-2008, 10:28 PM Reply   
what I have is a 1500 watt inverter
the Cobra cpi 1550
Old    dhcomp (dhcomp)      Join Date: Jun 2003       03-18-2008, 11:45 PM Reply   
do teh costco one. I'd get way higher than 100watt if you are running a 95 watt applicance.

Give some room for variance...and other thigns you may want to run.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 5:27 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us