Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through October 28, 2007

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    mike asch (mikea)      Join Date: Mar 2005       09-25-2007, 8:45 PM Reply   
This past summer I added tower speakers to my boat. I have been running the tower speakers off the rear channels and the cabin speakers from the front channels. After a while it gets to be a pain to adjust the cabin Vs' the tower speakers.
I would love to be able to add 2 volume controls to my boat. Something where I could set the headunit for the maximum levels (for any given day)and then adjust from there for volume at any given time.
Details:
(4) 4" speaker off front channels on head unit.
Head unit has 3 pre amp outputs
amp #1
front 2 channels - (4) 6" cabin speakers
rear 2 channels - (2) tower speakers
amp #2
Sub.

I would just like something very simple, so it wont matter who is at the helm, there are only 2 knobs to mess with (boat and tower)for volume, no fading / changing menus on the HU, etc.

It seems as though it should be really easy, but I am having trouble.
any help would be appreciated, thanks

mike
Old    Steve Amestoy (stevev210)      Join Date: Feb 2005       09-25-2007, 9:14 PM Reply   
Go on ebay and buy your self a clarion EQS746 7 band eq for 39.95 it will accept sub, front and rear inputs. You will have sub volume control and a fader knob so you can fade it to the tower or in the boat. It also has an auxilary output for ipod. If you have a four channel amp I would bridge the cabins on one side and bridge the sub on the other and run two sets of rca jacks to the eq, one to the front and the others to the sub then use your two channel amp for the tower and plug those into the rear input on the eq, now you have total simple control.
Old    Razzman (razzman)      Join Date: Dec 2006       09-25-2007, 9:17 PM Reply   
Use PAC LC-1 control knobs they work great and just plub inline with your amp inputs. You can get them almost at any car audio or eBay.

http://www.pac-audio.com/products/productsCatagory.asp?mmSearch=Amplifier%20Level%20 Controllers
Old    Buzz (buzz_grande)      Join Date: Mar 2004       09-26-2007, 7:35 AM Reply   
Like this? About as easy as it gets. Love my set-up. One for sub, interior, and tower.

Upload
Old    Chris (crghou)      Join Date: Jun 2005       09-26-2007, 7:55 AM Reply   
buzz what do you have?
Old    Buzz (buzz_grande)      Join Date: Mar 2004       09-26-2007, 10:36 AM Reply   
As far as what? The volume controls are PAC LC-1's. As far as stereo...Sony head unit, (2) Zappco amps, Eclipse sub, MB Quart interior speakers, and Skylon Rubicon 450's on the tower.
Old    Chris (crghou)      Join Date: Jun 2005       09-26-2007, 10:38 AM Reply   
i was talking about volume control.

thanks
chris
Old    mike asch (mikea)      Join Date: Mar 2005       09-27-2007, 2:48 PM Reply   
thanks for the info.
I purchased 3 PAC LC-1 from ebay. (less than $10 each)
Old    Ewing (johnsvt)      Join Date: Dec 2006       09-27-2007, 2:54 PM Reply   
Get an audio control line driver...either the three.1 or four.1 instant control of volume and some tone control for different music taste.
Old    JM (wake_pop)      Join Date: Jul 2004       09-28-2007, 1:40 PM Reply   
Ditto on the PAC's. I added i for the tower speaks and 1 for the sub volumne right into the stereo remote. Very slick setup.Upload
Old    Brad Webb (04outback)      Join Date: Jul 2007       09-28-2007, 4:44 PM Reply   
I am assuming since you have a remote that your stereo and amps are in opposite side console. Did you run RCA cables from the PAC controller to the other side? I am guessing you have to have a pair for each controller?
Old    mike asch (mikea)      Join Date: Mar 2005       10-01-2007, 7:44 PM Reply   
thanks for all the help!
I purchased the PAC controlers and I am working on installing them.
I was shopping for RCA cables and would like to hear what people think about standard, premium, pro cables?
The RCA cables I have now are WAY too long (25', IIRC, and I only need about 12')


I am going to run a 6' patch from the head unit to the PAC-1, then a 12' run to the amps.

Are the better cables worth the $?
should I ditch 25' cables and buy new 12' cables (does this matter?)

ref.
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=263-372
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=263-208
Old    Chris (crghou)      Join Date: Jun 2005       10-02-2007, 8:30 AM Reply   
where did you find those for 10 on ebay? I only see them for like 10 and then you have to pay like 15 to ship it.
Old    mike asch (mikea)      Join Date: Mar 2005       10-04-2007, 9:10 PM Reply   
Chris,
I purchased 3 PAC-LC1 for $54 shipped.


I found the answer to my cable questions on
http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/messages/3183/507265.html?1191437836

thanks WW
Old    Geoffrey Haynie (06outbackv)      Join Date: Dec 2006       10-05-2007, 3:28 PM Reply   
How do you hook in the PAC-LC1 to a 4 channel amp to control the tower speaker volume since the amp uses 2 sets of RCA's and the PAC-LC1 is make for only one set of RCA's?
Old    Nu Bu (05mobiuslsv)      Join Date: Apr 2006       10-05-2007, 4:22 PM Reply   
A 4 channel amp only needs one set of rca's and will work fine. I should say most 4 channel amps. If not just get some Y splitters from radio shack and split the signal at the amp from the pac LC1.
Old    T-Bag (nasty530)      Join Date: Aug 2007       10-05-2007, 4:46 PM Reply   
Can you take a Y adapter and turn the front and rear outputs on the deck into a single set of RCA's?
Old    Nu Bu (05mobiuslsv)      Join Date: Apr 2006       10-05-2007, 5:02 PM Reply   
Not really sure if that would work. It would definetely screw up your fading capability. Why would you want to do that?
Old    T-Bag (nasty530)      Join Date: Aug 2007       10-05-2007, 5:10 PM Reply   
So that my tower speakers where playing all of the music as "stereo" sound is not really possible.
Old    Nu Bu (05mobiuslsv)      Join Date: Apr 2006       10-05-2007, 5:45 PM Reply   
^^^^^What?
Old    T-Bag (nasty530)      Join Date: Aug 2007       10-05-2007, 6:23 PM Reply   
some songes play different sounds and music to the front and rear, ie "stereo". With tower speakers you want them to play everything, not just what music is sent to the front or rear channel. Thus I would like to combine both the front and rear music via a Y cable...

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 6:55 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us