Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 25, 2007

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    brandon (bthornton)      Join Date: Aug 2006       05-25-2007, 6:07 AM Reply   
I am going to run four of my speakers parallel into two channels on my amp. I am trying to figure out the best way to make the wire connections. Can they be run right into the same channel on the amp or do I have to splice them together before they get to the amp and one wire goes into the amp? If I have to splice what is the best type of connector to use?
Old    Gus Reisner (goose_sound_box_marine)      Join Date: May 2007       05-25-2007, 6:20 AM Reply   
What amp and speakers are they. If it is 2ohm stable stereo ,then you can just run 2 speakers all the way to each channel. That way you have all the wires at the amp location if you ever change the amp lay out.
Old    Adam Curtis (acurtis_ttu)      Join Date: May 2004       05-25-2007, 6:22 AM Reply   
you can do it both ways, but you'll use less wire adn most of the time it's easier to just run one "set" of wires back to the amp per pair of speakers. Best way to connect the wires is to solder them (then heatshrink). Solder guns are cheap and well worth the $$ IMO. If not a simple butt connector will work.
Old    Gus Reisner (goose_sound_box_marine)      Join Date: May 2007       05-25-2007, 6:57 AM Reply   
Yes he is right you may save 20.00 on wire but the amount of time if you ever change amps and are in need of a different ohm load; it is a real pain to take everything back out and run wires later. You can do it the other way if you never plan on changing it for sure , but as many boats as we do, they never stay the same long.
Old    Adam Curtis (acurtis_ttu)      Join Date: May 2004       05-25-2007, 7:45 AM Reply   
IMO it's actually easier to pull multiple sets of wires thru a tower once you already have one set run. Are you running the wires thru a tower?

Another issue running 4 "pairs" of wires thru a tower is the size (diameter of 4 pairs) of the wire....and connector you'll need to go thru your topdeck from your tower.
Old    brandon (bthornton)      Join Date: Aug 2006       05-25-2007, 7:58 AM Reply   
The wires are already pulled for the four speakers am I going to parallel. I am adding two more speakers to my set up. I just wasn't sure if I could run two wires directly into one channel on the amp. It sounds like I can and if the wire is already pulled I probably should.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 7:40 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us