Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 25, 2007

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Dennis (denwbaseball)      Join Date: Apr 2007       05-07-2007, 10:17 AM Reply   
Ok so I have a few questions about putting a sound system in a boat. I'm going to be putting a 450watt amp in my boat, and I'm not sure if I'm going to need an extra battery or if one battery will cut the mustard. What do you guys think? And how long could I run the system with the boat off before draining it? thanks guys!
Old    Preston Hall (phall925)      Join Date: Feb 2005       05-07-2007, 10:19 AM Reply   
I think it is good practice just to have two batteries for safety issue. You never have to worry. That amp should not drain your battery all that much. I would suggest an Optima Battery no matter what.
Old    Dennis (denwbaseball)      Join Date: Apr 2007       05-07-2007, 10:22 AM Reply   
Yea I have a spare battery on board but I wasn't sure if I needed to use an extra from the power from the amp.
Old    tony burks (tonality)      Join Date: Mar 2005       05-07-2007, 12:37 PM Reply   
If you keep a spare on board that you know will start your boat, then I'd say you'll be fine..but it's so much easier to toss in a perko and two identical batteries, then just switch to one or the other when you want to run the tunes with no motor...flip of a switch. Your way works fine too though, so it's personal preference.
Old    Jon Shaffer (jpshaff01)      Join Date: Jun 2005       05-07-2007, 12:53 PM Reply   
Yeah 450w isnt much, you should be fine a lot of times with one battery but you have to have another battery just in case. I run an excelon 1000w in my boat and i was able to run my system for a while and then start the boat back up.

I have two identical batteries and the perko switch i just have to find the time between all the other boat things to set that all up.
Old    Sean (hudd007)      Join Date: May 2006       05-07-2007, 10:12 PM Reply   
I have 2 batteries hooked up to a Perko switch. Only way I would do it. Left it on all on Saturday and got stuck for a little bit. Saved me all last summer by always having a 2nd battery ready at the flip of a switch. After tossing a couple back you don't always want to mess with electrical stuff that could kill you.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 1:51 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us