Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Video and Photography

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Kung Fu Wake & Video (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       11-12-2005, 5:15 PM Reply   
Ok... now that I have your attention.

I came across this benchmark test on another site and thought it would be cool to see what people's machine here can do.

Disclaimer: This bechmark is very limited in its scope and not a true determination if your OS makes you a better editor..


Using Photoshop CS or CS2 (or PS 7)
==================================================

1.) Download Image from http://www.quicklance.com/test.jpg (sweet pic!)

2.) Save it to computer and then open it up in Photoshop

3.) From there please apply a 'radial blur' with the settings at:

Amount = 100
Blur Method = Spin
Quality = Best

Using a stop watch / ps timer see how long it takes to apply this filter

Please list the following:

MOBO: Asus P4PE
CPU : Intel P4 2.4
RAM : 1 Gig OCZ PC2800
OS : Windows 98
TIME: 1 min 38 secs

Old    Rich Dykmans (richd)      Join Date: Oct 2003       11-13-2005, 6:57 AM Reply   
OK I'll play!

Apple Powerbook G4 15" 1ghz with 1 gig RAM OS 10.4.3 = 2 min 34 seconds. This is a Jan 04 model.

Will try my desktop when I get home.
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       11-13-2005, 12:52 PM Reply   
holy shizz rich! mac sucks!

jk!

'04 toshiba satelitte p25-s509 laptop
2.8ghz p4
1gb ram
windows xp pro

1:39

yeah, i know...mine isn't that much better.
Old    Travis V (cali_rider)      Join Date: Feb 2004       11-13-2005, 5:48 PM Reply   
Wow im stoked....

G5
1.8ghz Dual
1g Ram
OSX 10

58 seconds flat
Old    Manzo (zo1)      Join Date: Aug 2002       11-13-2005, 6:27 PM Reply   
Had to try it too.

04 HP Pavillion ze5500
2.66ghz
1g RAM
XP Pro
CS2

1 minute even...

Here is another question you shold ask: What is your memory usage in PS set for? Since this is my laptop and it is only used when I travel and for my wife to check e-mail I leave it set high so it is there when I need it - 55%
Old    Rich Dykmans (richd)      Join Date: Oct 2003       11-13-2005, 7:20 PM Reply   
Geez Joe if I had a 2.8 ghz processor like yours my notebook time might be under a minute!?
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       11-13-2005, 7:27 PM Reply   
you better believe it! it's the only way to go!

i hope you know i was kidding. my apologies if it didn't come off that way.
Old    Kung Fu Wake & Video (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       11-13-2005, 8:38 PM Reply   
RD - Get Chris off mySpace.com and run those benchmarks on the PM will ya...!


Old    Travis M (travis_m)      Join Date: Aug 2005       11-13-2005, 10:27 PM Reply   
How do you do this with Paint Shop Pro?
Old    Kung Fu Wake & Video (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       11-14-2005, 3:13 AM Reply   
ummmmm kay... You have to upgrade to Photoshop CS2.
Old    Rich Dykmans (richd)      Join Date: Oct 2003       11-14-2005, 5:37 AM Reply   
DC, I don't have it yet and Chris won't get to use it. Since I'm paying for his education I'm using his educational discount!

What is myspace.com? (I'm afraid to ask (or check)).

Joe, I got that - my response was envious. Sooner or later us poor Mac users will get a laptop faster then 2 ghz!

Actually I suspect that test is totally processor speed based as my iMac G5 1.8 ghz with 2 gigs of RAM posted a lowly 2 min 10 sec and I would expect it to do better then that.
Old    Jeremy (shutupandboard)      Join Date: Aug 2002       11-14-2005, 6:49 PM Reply   
Dang it! I wana play, but I use Paint Shop Pro.
Old    shelby daniel (oldschoolripper)      Join Date: Jul 2004       11-14-2005, 7:04 PM Reply   
All time record holder:
ta ta ta twoooooooooooooooooo minutes and fa fa fa 45 seconds, and thats the only task I was running

AMD XP 2800+ 2.08 GHZ Windows XP Pro
768 MB RAM, PSCS2 Asus MB

I need me an apple
Old    Timmay (ridemyzamboni)      Join Date: Aug 2004       11-16-2005, 8:46 PM Reply   
This sounds like fun!

Soltek - K8TPRO
AMD 64 3200+
1 GB Corsair XMS
XP Pro
1 min 18 sec
Old                11-17-2005, 5:00 AM Reply   
what type of graphics card do you guys have?
That makes a pretty big difference
Old    Kung Fu Wake & Video (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       11-17-2005, 11:20 PM Reply   
"graphics card" makes a difference in rendering photoshop files...

really? how?

=========================================

MOBO: Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
CPU : AMD x2 4800
GPU : BFG GeForce 6600 GT OC
RAM : OCZ 4 Gig DDR 400 (OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K)
OS : Win XPRO SP2

35 Secs

Word to your mother!

Old    toolfan (toolfan)      Join Date: Jul 2003       11-18-2005, 7:24 PM Reply   
when i get to the office tommorrow, i will play. i cant wait.

gfx cards can make a big diffrence. the dont render only 3d, they do 2d as well.
Old    Kung Fu Wake & Video (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       11-18-2005, 9:24 PM Reply   
So one should spend $500 on a graphics cards vs. a more powerful CPU to make their photoshop or After Effect render times shorter?

Old    toolfan (toolfan)      Join Date: Jul 2003       11-19-2005, 7:10 AM Reply   
try taking your gfx card out and use the integrated gfx card and see what the difference is.

most cards process 2d images differently. particarly between brands(ati vs. geforce).
also the amount of onboard memory on the card is factor as well.

I would not recommend spending $500 on a new gfx card(unless you really want) but I would recommend spending $250 on a good card and $250 on more ram.

You have to identify your deficientcies and buy what will help you the most.
Old    airwarrior04 (airwarrior04)      Join Date: Aug 2004       11-21-2005, 3:16 PM Reply   
I gave in.

Mac
Powerbook 12" 1.5ghz 512mb ram 80gb HD
Adobe PS CS2

2Minutes 21Seconds
Old    Rich Dykmans (richd)      Join Date: Oct 2003       11-21-2005, 7:07 PM Reply   
I got my new dual core 2.3 powermac up and running and it did it in 43 seconds. Still trying to figure out how James watts got 41 seconds out of his dual core 2 ghz! I think we both have 2 gigs of RAM.
Old    Kung Fu Wake & Video (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       11-21-2005, 9:15 PM Reply   
AMD sweeps the group... wwwooo hooo.

Hmmmmm... Do you have AE? You should try the AE Render test on WB.com that pheonona found. That will probably be a better test for the PM.

Old    toolfan (toolfan)      Join Date: Jul 2003       11-22-2005, 12:12 PM Reply   
58 secs.

Dual 2.0 Mac G5
4 GB Ram

Mac OS 10.4.2

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 5:29 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us