Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Video and Photography

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Mike Isler (isler)      Join Date: Apr 2003       08-18-2005, 7:46 PM Reply   

I used to have a pile of external HDs for storing all of my photos... that was a pretty ghetto setup.

I just put in a new system here, complete with a few pictures. It's a bit less ghetto...

I still have to get a tape autoloader (Exabyte VXA-2 probably) as well as put in shelves for more components, but it's coming along. There are two UPSes... the little one on the bottom left just powers the hubs and router..I have a much larger one for the computer system.

It's a 5x400GB RAID system, with 4x250GB LaCie's underneath to do weekly on-line backups. Once I put the tape system in, I'll do D2D2T backup (Disk to Disk to Tape), and do offsite storage.

I just had to share my excitement... I've had the system for about a week now, and it's pretty damn fast.

Mike



Old    toolfan (toolfan)      Join Date: Jul 2003       08-19-2005, 8:09 AM Reply   
only 1 big problem....actually 2.

is your router the Linksys WRT54GS?
its got major security issues if it is.

overall all, sweet rig...even for Apple. The sticker on top of the rack is cute.
Old                08-19-2005, 10:25 AM Reply   
im jeleous of all that HD space...
Old    Mike Isler (isler)      Join Date: Apr 2003       08-19-2005, 12:03 PM Reply   
Toolfan,

Nope, not WRT54GS. I know I'm using a POS of a router, but it supports VPN Endpoint, so it's handy to get into my home system from the road without opening up normal ports. It's a BEFVP41.

The nice thing about the WRT54G's, though, is there is tons of new firmware out for it that 3rd parties have written, giving it a lot more functionality. I should probably setup the XServe as a firewall, but I like not having it hooked right into the cable modem...

What's the 2nd problem? It's Apple? =)
Old    toolfan (toolfan)      Join Date: Jul 2003       08-19-2005, 12:28 PM Reply   
how'd you guess?

here is a good read about that router. it may or may not change your opinion about it. but yes, 3rd party firmware helps it tremdously.
http://www.broadbandreports.com/forum/remark,14141344
i just got rid of mine at home. linksys does make great repeaters though.
Old    Jeremy (shutupandboard)      Join Date: Aug 2002       08-19-2005, 4:11 PM Reply   
NICE! That's about as "less ghetto" as you can get.
Old    Clinton (just_board)      Join Date: Jul 2005       08-29-2005, 10:17 PM Reply   
that doesn't look expensive at all..


...

looks like about as much money as i've spent in my whole life..

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 4:11 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us