Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 04, 2005

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Joe Sellhausen (joesell)      Join Date: Apr 2001       03-28-2005, 6:36 PM Reply   
I've had a shower installed at the dealership when I bought my boat in 2001. It's never worked correctly. I have plenty of cold water pressure, but almost no hot water.
I disconnected the hot water hose from the combination valve and found that the hot water only trickles out. Right now it connects at the bottom of the block, at a drain plug.

Where is your hot water hose connected on your boat?

If you disconnected the hose at the valve side, how much pressure do you have?

Thanks, Joe
Old    Cliff Griffin (seattle)      Join Date: Mar 2002       03-28-2005, 7:12 PM Reply   
Joe,

If you have a heater, just "T" off of it back at the motor. When I installed my after market heater, there was an unused plug on the block that I tapped into. Indmar said it's where the heater hose would tap in when the block is used in an auto application. You'll get plenty of hot water out there.
Old    Flack (flackpack)      Join Date: Feb 2004       03-29-2005, 8:17 AM Reply   
I tapped into one of the plugged water cooling ports on the heads. I have a Marine Power 350 block which has slightly different heads, but they shouldn't be much different from yours, and there should be 3-4 ports available on your motor.
Port 3/8 - 1/2 for heater
Old     (fogey)      Join Date: Mar 2002       03-29-2005, 9:04 AM Reply   
Joe,

I installed my shower, and I connected the hot water supply line at the block drain plug hole. This is what the installation instructions recommend, and it sounds like your setup. I generally get plenty of hot water, but I think this is because of the shower pump and not any real pressure from the supply line.

Your mixture valve body may need some routine maintenance. If you have an Aquatik shower, each inlet (cold & hot) has a screen that keeps debris out of the valve body. When these screens get clogged, the pump can't pull water through them.

You might try disconnecting the three lines that are connected to the valve body and remove it from the boat. Then you can look into the inlet holes and see if the hot water screen is clogged.
I have to do this once or twice a year. I know it's time when there's not much hot water.

If the screens look okay, I'd make sure the block drain hole is clear and use compressed air to blow out the hot water supply line while it is disconnected.
Old    Joe Sellhausen (joesell)      Join Date: Apr 2001       03-29-2005, 6:00 PM Reply   
Thanks for the help,
I don't think it's the valve because I disconnected the hose and there was hardly a trickle coming from the block. I'm going to check the bolck itself to see if it's blocked at that end.
If all else fails, I like the idea of tapping into the heater line or the head. It would probably have more volume there anyway.
Old    Cary Kalamajka (ndh2o)      Join Date: Oct 2001       03-29-2005, 6:28 PM Reply   
I have the EXACT same problem with my shower ('01 X-Star). More responses are aprreciated, but I will try what has already been listed.
Old    Matthew Melvin (melvinator)      Join Date: Apr 2001       03-30-2005, 9:37 AM Reply   
I know its a dumb question, but do you guys do have pumps hooked up to your showers?
Old    Flack (flackpack)      Join Date: Feb 2004       03-30-2005, 2:59 PM Reply   
I do have a pump hooked up. I have it hooked in from the mixer for the shower and out to the shower head. I used an RV water on demand pump.
Shower pump
Old    Joe Sellhausen (joesell)      Join Date: Apr 2001       04-01-2005, 3:20 PM Reply   
I removed the fitting from the bottom of the block and it was filled with rust chips, along with the hose itself. So I plugged that hole and now I'm using a spot on the intake. I think with it being higher up, it will get less corrosion. I'll let you guys know how it works asap.

Thanks Joe
Old    Joe Sellhausen (joesell)      Join Date: Apr 2001       04-03-2005, 7:46 PM Reply   
I took it out yesterday. I had more hot water pressure then cold for the first time. I really think that using the port on the intake is the way to go.

Thanks for all the help, Joe

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 6:51 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us