Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through January 29, 2010

Old     (benjaminp)      Join Date: Nov 2008       01-27-2010, 4:50 PM Reply   
Hey, I am considering entering a couple local contests this summer, and had a couple questions about putting together a run.
First, how many tricks do you usually do in a pass? Or does it depend on the contest a lot? Also, is there an accepted order for throwing tricks (keep in mind I am a novice rider)? And my final question, is the boat often weighted for novice riders, and are you able to pick the speed you ride at?
Thanks in advance, and if there is anything else you think I should watch out for, I would love the heads up.
Old     (wakemania)      Join Date: Sep 2008       01-27-2010, 5:09 PM Reply   
You can normally get in 5 to 6 tricks per pass (2 passes) for novice riders, so 10 - 12 tricks total would be about the norm. That is if you don't fall. Try to put your run together so you can use both sides of the wake. I'm assuming you have no inverts so an example would be HS Indy, TS Indy, HS trick, TS or Switch trick and so forth. Try to get as many TS and switch tricks in as possible IMO. They don't usually weight the boat for novice. They will normally have enough people in the boat to get enough weight. Lastly, you need to make sure the driver knows what speed you want to ride. It will be up to you to let the driver know. Good luck. Don't treat it like a job and just go have a blast. I would watch others ride and get ideas from their runs. Mostly you want to have a bag of tricks which feature, HS, TS and switch tricks.
Old     (ttrigo)      Join Date: Dec 2004       01-27-2010, 5:15 PM Reply