Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through May 22, 2006

Old     (lyle)      Join Date: May 2004       05-15-2006, 9:26 AM Reply   
Okay, so for some reason when i ride alot, I get this pain in my front leg, it runs along the outside of my leg about middle way down bettween my knee and ankle. It feels like its in bettween my calf muscle and shin bone. I almost think that I may have my binding turned on way or the other too much. ( they arent turned much at all though) I really start felling the pain after I ride a session where I ride switch alot? It gets to the point where I cant hardly ride by the end of the day... Please someone gimme some advice.. Thanks
Old     (hal2814)      Join Date: Feb 2006       05-15-2006, 9:50 AM Reply   
I'm no doctor but it sounds like shin splints. Go run for an hour straight and see if you get the same pain. If switch riding makes this worse, try reducing the amount of switch riding you do for a while until your shins build up enough strength to handle it. At any rate, continually aggrivating your shin splints puts you at greater risk for chronic shin problems.
Old     (iamnathanhudson)      Join Date: Dec 2002       05-15-2006, 10:00 AM Reply   
i would try adjusting your stance....now whether it should be more duck or less duck is simply trial and error....i had that problem and i just "unducked" my stance a little....i have also had people who did the opposite to alleviate this problem. seems it is when your stance is not natural so your foot is being held at an angle that it isn't normally at. Not sure if this helps your problem or not because i am not a doctor and it could be a whole other problem. Worth a try though.
-N8
Old     (jon_m)      Join Date: Mar 2006       05-15-2006, 11:39 AM Reply