Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through February 09, 2007

Old     (dldunn)      Join Date: Jan 2007       02-01-2007, 5:55 PM Reply   
I've been lurking here for a while now, and looking to buy a boat. I have been boarding behind an old school I/O for a few years, and really wanting a direct drive. So obviously the opinion here on the board is "buy a s/n 2001" So I found one and bought it today. It is an '82 one owner in really great condition.

Now for my questions:
Can someone explain exactly how the water pick up works? Like how does it prime itself, and are the hoses to the trans actually a pump? I'm wondering exactly what I have to do if I go to the lake now (to re-winterize). Do I somehow need to drain the pump/trans? Is there more than one drain on the block? My I/O has 2. Do I need to put anti freeze back in, and if so, which hose? Thanks in advance for any and all help....I can't wait to get this thing on the water!!
David
Old     (bremsen)      Join Date: Aug 2005       02-01-2007, 6:43 PM Reply   
Congrats on the purchase. Lets see some pics!

ok, to the ?s

-The water intake is rubber impeller pump on the front of the engine and it uses suction to prime itself. Just don't want to run it dry for any length of time. Replace 1/yr or inspect regularly.
-Hoses to the trans? to the trans cooler maybe?
-No need to re-winterize if you plan to take it out or run it regularly. We're only 6-8 weeks out from the season so as long as you drain the block and manifolds after each use you should be fine. Two drains on the block and one on each manifold. Also drain the transcooler, impeller pump and intake filter (if you have one). I think thats everything.