Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 21, 2003

Old     (gvb)      Join Date: May 2003       05-09-2003, 8:10 PM Reply   
Hey guys, here is the story...

I grew up going to the river with the family, ski/knee/tube/wake behind a jet boat and an I/O.

I am now looking at buying a used boat for myself and would like to stay around or under $10K.

The people that I have talked to so far have tried to steer me towards direct drive boats (MasterCraft, etc..). I am a newbie wakeboarder and don't need a perfect wake or anything like that. I don't know much (other than what I've read) about the different drive types and their specific differences, but I don't remember ever having a problem getting yanked out of the water and holding steady speeds in jet boats, i/o, and outboard boats.

I see pretty nice looking boats ready to go for around 6-7 grand, but I don't know much about the brands, which motors have a good history for running a long time, resale value, maintenance, etc...

So what do you guys think? With the money I've got to spend, what is my best bet?

Thanks in advance!

-gvb

(Message edited by gvb on May 09, 2003)
Old     (monstertower)      Join Date: Mar 2003       05-09-2003, 9:22 PM Reply   
Get and old Ski Nautique or MasterCraft inboard. Great boats you can buy for like $7-9K and if you weight them right they throw a great wake for the $$$. We dont impress anyone with a $50K Wakeboard boat but it does give you something to work towards.

Whatever you get will be much better than watching from shore !

Bill
Old     (tigeal)      Join Date: Jul 2002       05-09-2003, 9:40 PM Reply