Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (adamsilcio)      Join Date: Oct 2007       05-17-2011, 8:27 PM Reply   
so i graduated college in the fall and my health insurance will run out in August. just wondering what some options are for health insurance that will cover wakeboarding. i've had several injuries in wakeboarding and i just want to make sure i am covered at an affordable price. anybody have any luck with this?
Old     (wake77)      Join Date: Jan 2009       05-18-2011, 4:15 PM Reply   
Just about any plan should cover wakeboarding. My advice is to get a plan that doesn't cover anything until you reach a certain out-of-pocket limit. When I had my own plan, it didn't cover anything until I reached 2,000.00 OOP. I never went to the doctor so I wasn't interested in the co-pay thing. It was just there in case something serious happened, i.e. my broken ankle a few summers ago that required surgery.

You will still get the doctor's office insurance discount if something minor happens. You will save big time on your monthly payment as compared to a low-deductible plan so it all balances out.
Old     (wakecumberland)      Join Date: Oct 2007       05-19-2011, 11:32 AM Reply   
What Jeremy said, AND get a health savings account (HSA) to go with it.
Old     (mc_x15)      Join Date: Jul 2008       05-19-2011, 12:39 PM Reply   
I would be careful with the HSA and high deductable insurance. It may save you a few bucks monthly but in the long run may cost you more if you dont have serious injury. For example. I have a $2500 deductable which I pay 100% of the bill until I reach $2500.00. Then I have a co insurance from 2500-5000 which I pay 20% of the bill. ONce I reach $5000 i pay nothing.