Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through May 22, 2006

Old     (shaun_murray)      Join Date: Sep 2005       05-11-2006, 6:49 AM Reply   
For those who don't know me, I am a pro rider and have been competing for more than 10 years. This past weekend, at a comp, I was face down the water until the boat came and Drew Mcgukin pulled me onto the boat. This was a scare and a wakeup call for everyone including myself. The tour is now requiring everyone in the boat to be trained in CPR and I believe water safety training as well. I told some of the uppers at the tour they need to take advantage of their power and require each competitor on tour to take the same courses since we are all on the water so much and can have this same situation happen to any of us. The reason for me telling you this is that you should take some local action and make sure you and your riding buddies are ready for a serious situation. Take a CPR course AT LEAST. Wakeboarding is a unique sport in that we are normally a good distance to getting medical help, so be ready. I don't want to scare people, just realize that if you find yourself in this situation, you don't want to be mad at yourself because you didn't want to take the time out of your schedule to learn what to do.
Old     (jon4pres)      Join Date: May 2004       05-11-2006, 6:59 AM Reply   
What are your feelings on approved vs. comp vests?
What did you have on at the time of your fall?

Old     (boarditup)      Join Date: Jan 2004       05-11-2006, 7:17 AM Reply