Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through November 04, 2009

Old     (lakebum14)      Join Date: Mar 2008       09-27-2009, 8:37 PM Reply   
This will be my first year to store a boat outside during the winter. It will be winterized and fully covered but I still have my worries, since I've never done this before. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old     (polarbill)      Join Date: Jun 2003       09-27-2009, 8:42 PM Reply   
If you have have ballast lines in your boat make sure they are empty or run some antifreeze in them. If they are just empty I would pull any ballast bags or anything else for that matter off the carpet so it doesn't trap moisture. Get a couple of those DryZair things. Prop up some of the cushions so there is good air flow. I would store it with your normal cover and then get another tarp style cover that is propped up over your boat or atleast so the tarp isn't right on top of the boat cover. This will allow air flow through there. If you have it under a carport or something like that you probably don't need the tarp. I am sure there are some other good suggestions as well.
Old     (99_slaunch)      Join Date: Oct 2005       09-27-2009, 9:04 PM Reply   
Condition the vinyl real well..
Old     (rallyart)      Join Date: Nov 2006       09-27-2009, 9:06 PM Reply   
Make sure you have some tarp supports inside so the water does not pool in the tarp. Shade the tires from the sun and pump them to their max rated pressure.
Old     (hco)      Join Date: Jun 2006       09-27-2009, 9:43 PM Reply   
Clean snow off of it every time, leave a dehumidifier in there/the packets, moth balls, and a fresh cleaning/polishing everywhere. And make sure you take out anything that can mold.