Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through June 03, 2009

Old     (justinwakes)      Join Date: May 2009       05-25-2009, 7:27 PM Reply   
I have been riding for along time... since i was way young... my family bought a mastercraft X-45 right after i graduated... and i took my riding to the next level i went from being a lever 1 rider to a level 5 rider over the summer... i was so stoked because i thought i was just going to get better and better... but i haven't... i feel like i have gotten worse... i am 22 years old there is no reason why i shouldn't still be progressing. Its like i have a huge mental block... i keep trying and trying and i am not landing anything new... what should i do? any advice?
Old     (wakerider111)      Join Date: Jul 2006       05-25-2009, 7:43 PM Reply   
I am not an advanced rider by any means, but...

seems what i hear recommended most is to go back to some of the basics. do stuff you already know, but instead try to add a new grab and such. draw out the spin/grab/poke. take something bigger into the flats that you normally don't. try doing some stuff switch and get better switch. stuff like that.

and then when your feeling a groove and feelin up to it again, try the entirely new stuff again

(Message edited by wakerider111 on May 25, 2009)
Old     (eternalshadow)      Join Date: Nov 2001       05-25-2009, 7:45 PM Reply   
I'd say it's time to try some of the following:

Book a lesson

Switch up the crew you ride with (go out with some guys that are going to push you!)

Back to the basics (How's your switch, blind, ts, anything that you can improve upon, different grabs)

Do something different behind the boat, be it wakeskating, surfing, even dare I say it... tubing, just something to adjust your focus