Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through January 29, 2010

Old     (millsryno)      Join Date: Jan 2010       01-23-2010, 6:30 PM Reply   
I used to do a lot of slalom skiing 15 years and 60 pounds ago...I'd like to learn to wakeboard. I'm a beginner and weigh between 240-250 lbs. I've been doing a bunch of research online and keep thinking the CWB Sol 141 would be a good board for me. What would you guys recommend? Older models are good to recommend as well because I think I am looking for a good used board on CL and ebay. I figure if I have a list of a few different ones that would be good for me, eventually I can find one at a decent price. I cannot afford a new one with the way the economy is...

I'm mostly interested in a board for me, but wouldn't mind one that is going to work good for other beginners in my boat who will most likely be in the 180-240 pound range.
Old     (highrock)      Join Date: Apr 2008       01-23-2010, 7:18 PM Reply   
If I was looking in your situation I would look for something a little bigger than a 141. Try looking for a Liquid Force Witness 144 or anything in the 143 to 147 range. I do not know exactly what price range you are looking for but you may be able to get a new 08 or maybe even 09 really cheap right now.
Old     (johnny_defacto)      Join Date: Sep 2006       01-23-2010, 7:27 PM Reply   
Man, check www.boardersbestbuy.com for their daily deals/steals. when you see a board longer than 140cm, go do quick research to see the specs (rocker, weight limits, etc...)