Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through June 19, 2005

Old     (stephan)      Join Date: Nov 2002       05-20-2005, 8:53 PM Reply   
Hey folks. Just wondering how long it takes to get back to riding for a separated shoulder. I fell yesterday on a Slob 3 and felt a little pain. As the day progressed it got worse & worse. Now the doc says I got a 2nd degree separation of my right shoulder. I was planning on riding all next weekend. Any ideas on if this is possible or not? I'm icing & wearing my sling because dammit I wanna ride!

(Message edited by Stephan on May 20, 2005)
Old     (jarrod)      Join Date: May 2003       05-20-2005, 9:32 PM Reply   
I would try to do anything that doesn't hurt. Maybe keep both hands on the handle. Front hand or back hand?

Old     (dococ)      Join Date: Mar 2002       05-20-2005, 10:09 PM Reply   
Stephan,
Sucks that this happened in the spring, but you might wanna take some time to let it heal. Once you suffer an AC separation, your shoulder gets weak and you are more likely to suffer another, even years later. I've done mine twice ('93 and Feb '03). It's like a lot of injuries, if you invest in proper healing and rehab right now, it will pay off for the rest of your life. I took a good bit of time off this last time I did it, and there were contests I really wanted to train for. I think I rode maybe after 8 weeks and my physical therapist called it "unwise." With hardcore rehab I was back full strength by maybe 4-5 months.