Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through April 25, 2006

Old    sila            04-20-2006, 10:59 AM Reply   
This may sound like a lame question but I am somewhat new in the wakeboarding scene and I have a board that is somewhat flat on the bottom with no molded fins in the fiberglass of the board. My questions:

What difference does the size of your board make on your ride? (more pop, more tricks??)

What difference does the size of your fins make for your ride?

and last but not least

What is the difference between the molded fins that are in advanced boards and the flat begginner boards that do not have the molded fins?

Thanks for the input. I am about to make the plunge into getting an advanced board and I want to make sure that the money is worth it.

what is the best board and binding setup for the money???

(Message edited by sila on April 20, 2006)
Old     (thane_dogg)      Join Date: Jun 2002       04-20-2006, 11:11 AM Reply   
There are some boards out there that are "advanced" and are still very easy to ride for a wide range of styles, and people. There are also some "advanced" boards out there that are only will work for a distinct riding style.

The size of the board is mostly personal preference. I like boards that are a little on the big side for my recommended weight range.

The size of the fins also have a huge impact on how a board performs. The bigger the fin, the more responsive your board will be.

The best thing to do is ride as many boards as you can. Ride your friend's boards, invite people out on your boat to ride their board, or go out with someone else and ride their board, or go to a shop and get a demo.