Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (slfxm)      Join Date: Jul 2006       03-08-2010, 8:31 PM Reply   
I've always wanted to live on the lake but it seems like anyplace that has decent salaries and opportunities (I'm a senior software engineer) is ridiculously expensive. The lakes that have affordable waterfront properties don't seem to have decent paying job opportunities.

Anyone know of any hidden gems? Somewhere an engineer can afford a full-time lakehouse. Preferably somewhere where humans are near the top of the food chain (i.e. no alligators)?
Old     (fuller313)      Join Date: Oct 2006       03-08-2010, 9:33 PM Reply   
Have you checked out San Antonio/New Braunfels area? There are several lakes with waterfront property.
Old     (ixfe)      Join Date: Aug 2008       03-08-2010, 11:10 PM Reply   
Need more specifics...

What do you consider affordable? How big does it have to be? What sort of SW engineer are you?
Old     (wakereviews)      Join Date: Sep 2006       03-09-2010, 5:46 AM Reply   
When we looked into moving to TX a while back, it seemed lakefront there was very affordable.
Old     (fly135)      Join Date: Jun 2004       03-09-2010, 8:14 AM Reply   
Orlando area is very affordable.
Old     (sidekicknicholas)      Join Date: Mar 2007       03-09-2010, 8:19 AM Reply   
Olando/ Winter Haven (most of Florida except coastal area) - not bad
Central Wisconsin - not bad
MN outside of the cities
Old     (jason95gt)      Join Date: May 2006       03-09-2010, 7:40 PM Reply   
Wisconsin has some great lakes and hidden gems.
Old     (osukellen)      Join Date: Feb 2010       03-09-2010, 8:15 PM Reply   
slf-I lived in Tulsa for 25 years. PM me if you want to know more-Grand Lake is beautiful and about 40 minutes from Tulsa.