Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Trick Tips

Old                06-26-2001, 8:25 PM Reply   
Alright, Sorry that I posted this on here, but due to the lack of response on the Trick Tips board I decided one thread on this board wouldn't hurt. On a tantrum some say that you should cut to you toeside to pop you up and some say you shouldn't. What do you think or do on this? Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old    right            06-26-2001, 8:58 PM Reply   
Blake

I am far from an expert but I had a lot of trouble with my tantrum the first day I tried because I was going to early and killing myself against the wake. I watched detention and saw how murray cut and then went flat then kind of went parallel to the wake. I tried this style and it helped a lot but I have found that it was a lot to think about on a hard cut like I was making for my tantrum. The easiest and best way I have found is to start my cut about ten feet farther outside the wake than a regular jump. I build my speed really fast and concentrate on being flat just before I get to the wake. then at the last second before my board leaves the wake I let go with my back hand (right) and reach back. All I do in the air is arch my back. The flip comes really easy. I don't land them 100% yet more like 60% but I am getting better and I have seen pictures of a mine that looked pretty good. Every once in a while I get a great one that goes really big. I think it has to do with how long you wait to release your back hand. At first I thought this was the wrong style but after watching a few of Shapiro's tantrums in shafted I saw that he is doing them just like I do. hope this helps.

Chris
Old    phobic (hydrophobic) on             06-27-2001, 6:08 AM Reply